Yarmouth Town Council, School Committee leaders named

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

YARMOUTH — The Town Council and School Committee last week welcomed new and returning members and elected new leaders.

David Ray, who previously served six years and is returning after a one-year hiatus, was named School Committee chairman. Committee member Art Bell was named vice chairman and is beginning his second term.

New members Andrew Tureff and Craig Wolff were elected to the School Committee this year in uncontested races and will each serve a three-year term.

Mark Hough was named Town Council chairman. Hough has been on the committee three years and is starting his second term. Councilor Jeff Darrell was named vice chairman.

Councilors Carl Winslow and Erv Bickford were re-elected to the Town Council, which adopted the previous year’s goals without amendments and appointed members to subcommittees.

Darrell will be a liaison for the Parks and Lands and the Comprehensive Plan Steering committees and Bickford will be a liaison for the Gateways and Recycling committees. Councilor Kent Peterson is a liaison for the Sports and Recreation and Shellfish committees and Councilor Tom Renehan will attend Harbor and Waterfront and Energy Committee meetings.

The council is expected to hold a workshop on July 2 and a regular council meeting Monday, July 20.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or aanderson@theforecaster.net.