Yarmouth Town Council race contested, but without Steinbach

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

YARMOUTH — Few residents new to town government have shown interest in running for elected office in June, but a handful of former elected officials are running again.

There are two Town Council seats, three School Committee seats and one Water District Board of Trustees seat available. The council elections are the only contested races this year.

Town Council Vice Chairman Erv Bickford has submitted nomination papers for a second three-year term, and former Councilor Carl Winslow of West Main Street is seeking another term on the council. Steve Woods of Glen Road, currently a member of the Planning Board, picked up nomination papers for both the council and School Committee elections, but decided to run for a seat on the Town Council.

Council Chairman Karl Steinbach had the opportunity to run again, but did not take out nomination papers for the June election. Steinbach previously served one year of a councilor’s unexpired term and was elected to a full three-year term in 2006.

“I will stay involved to some extent, but four years was good,” he said. “I will take at least one year off.”

Bickford, a resident of Westcustogo Point, is also running for the Water District Board of Trustees.

Another returning candidate is former School Committee Chairman David Ray of Applecrest Circle. Also running for the School Committee are Andrew Tureff of Sea Meadows Road and Craig Wolff of Bayview Street.

Ray, who previously served six years on the School Committee, said his decision to run again was based on changes facing the committee in the coming years. There will be a new superintendent next year, and teacher contract negotiations are scheduled, too.

“There will be a lot of transition, and the core group of experienced committee members will be gone,” he said. “There are difficult decisions facing the schools.”

Residents will also vote on  the school budget on June 9.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or aanderson@theforecaster.net.