Yarmouth council election will depend on write-in candidates

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

YARMOUTH — The only contested town election will be for a seat on the Water District Board of Trustees after the deadline for submitting nomination papers expired on April 26.

There are two, three-year seats available on both the Town Council and School Committee, but only three people returned papers for the four spots.

Incumbents Art Bell and Abigail Diggins returned papers for their seats on the School Committee, and will run in an uncontested election on the June 8 ballot.

Only Steven Woods returned nomination papers for one of the two Town Council seats. The other seat will have to be filled by a write-in candidate.

Town Clerk Jennifer Doten said she cannot remember the last time there was a write-in campaign due to a lack of participation.

“Each year it seems to get a little worse,” she said. “It’s the same thing with volunteers. One committee has only two people. We just don’t see people coming forward to give of their time.”

Doten said she thinks people want to be involved, but families, work and life make it hard to find time for the town.  

“People don’t have the time they used to,” she said. “Times have changed in that way.”

Doten said she will count all the write-in votes for the council. The person who receives the most write-in votes has the right to accept or refuse election. She said if the person refuses the seat, the Town Council will have to call a special election for the remaining seat.

The two seats on the council are currently held by Council Chairman Mark Hough and Councilor Kent Peterson. Hough cannot run again because he has served two, consecutive three-year terms. Peterson did not take out papers, although he was eligible to serve one more term.

The only contested race is for the Yarmouth Water District.

Incumbent William Reinsborough of Cousins Street is seeking another three-year term and newcomer Patricia Ramsay, a Sligo Road resident, is running against him. There are no term limits on the Water District, and the board currently includes four Yarmouth residents and one North Yarmouth resident.

Election Day is June 8, and voting will take place at the AMVETS Hall on North Road from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or [email protected]