Yarmouth Clippers Spring Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

(Ed. Note: This story will appear in our July 12 northern print edition)

Male Athlete of the Year:

BRYCE SNYDER, Senior-Baseball


* WMC All-Conference, first-team, third base

The Yarmouth baseball team had a much better than expected season and Snyder was a huge reason why, producing big numbers and clutch hits and capping one of the more storied careers in program history in style.

Snyder grew up in Yarmouth and played baseball from a young age. Snyder served as the place-kicker for the Class C champion football team as a junior and senior and also had two memorable campaigns on the diamond.

As a junior, Snyder helped the Clippers make it to the regional final with a .352 average, 11 runs scored, six doubles and three steals.

This past season was even more impressive for the third baseman/closer.

Highlights included a single, double, triple and four RBI in a win over Old Orchard Beach, two doubles and three RBI versus Gray-New Gloucester, two hits and three RBI in a victory over Poland, an RBI double and a save against Fryeburg, four hits and five RBI versus Cape Elizabeth, a single, double, two RBI and a save in an upset win over Greely, two RBI in a loss to Gray-New Gloucester, three hits, three RBI and a win in relief versus Cape Elizabeth and an RBI in a regular season-ending win over York.

Snyder doubled and scored three runs in a quarterfinal round playoff win over Maranacook and doubled in a semifinal round extra inning loss to Cape Elizabeth.

For the year, Snyder had 28 hits in 58 at-bats for a .483 average (the third best in program annals in the Class B era), scored 14 times, drove in 29 runs (a new single season program record), belted 11 doubles (also a new single season program record), one triple and stole seven bags for a team that had few expectations, yet overcame an 0-2 start to win 11 games and come within an extra inning loss from making the regional final for a third successive year.

Snyder finishes his career second in doubles and third in RBI beyond Andrew Totta and Luke Pierce, who started four seasons to Snyder’s two.

“I play with a chip on my shoulder,” said Snyder.. “I play with zero regrets. I have a tattoo that says, ‘0 regrets.’ I try to do everything I can to help the team. I love winning.”

Snyder will attend Hobart College and plans to play football for the Division III school. He expects to kick and play defensive back.

Snyder certainly left his mark on Yarmouth High, enjoying a two-year run unparalleled in program history, making everyone around him better in the process.

Coach Marc Halsted’s comment: “Bryce is Yarmouth baseball. He has proudly and admirably carried on the traditions of the players who have come before him. Bryce is a good student, an excellent football player and one of the best players the baseball program has ever produced. Most importantly, he’s a good role model for our younger players and someone who understands the importance of character. It will be very difficult to make out a lineup card without Bryce next year. I’ll miss him very much.”

2011 winner: Campbell Belisle-Haley (Baseball)

2010 winner: Nick Whittaker (Baseball)

2009 winner: Rob Highland (Lacrosse)

2008 winner: Robb Arndt (Baseball)

2007 winner: Jon Poole (Lacrosse)

2006 winner: Hans Tobiason (Lacrosse)

2005 winner: Chris Hichborn (Lacrosse)

2004 winner: Jon Miller (Lacrosse)

2003 winner: Jared Harriman (Lacrosse)

2002 winner: Tim Kjeldgaard (Lacrosse)

Female Athlete of the Year:

HANNAH POTTER, Senior-Tennis


* WMC All-Conference, first-team

* Captain

Potter was a terrific tennis player in high school and her efforts in the classroom and the real world have been even more impressive.

Potter started playing tennis at the age of 10. At Yarmouth High, she played varsity tennis for four years, while also running cross country and taking part in Nordic skiing. She’s played a key role for an always-competitive program and this spring, put up some impressive numbers.

Potter went 7-2 in the regular season, reached the quarterfinals of the state singles tournament before losing to Falmouth’s Annalise Kump and won a playoff match, helping Yarmouth make it to the Western B Finals, where the Clippers lost to the Yachtsmen (even though Potter made Annie Criscione battle through two grueling sets).

“I think this year it was probably just my attitude going into the season,” Potter said. “I was pretty relaxed and just excited to have a great last season with my team. Tennis is a really independent sport, so you definitely have to make an effort to create a solid team spirit.”

As well as she’s played on the court, her academic prowess has been even more admirable.

Potter also founded and directs New View, a forum to promote cultural awareness between students in the United States and the Middle East.

“I’ve worked specifically with those from the Middle East through various programs with the goal of bringing a more global perspective to Yarmouth High School and the town itself,” Potter said.

Potter also has participated in Seeds of Peace, Global Youth Village and the New England Young Writers Conference. Potter has received numerous awards and grants, belonged to Yarmouth High debate team and contributed to the literary magazine.

Potter will attend Stanford University next year and will possibly pursue Global Health, but is uncommitted as of now.

This well-rounded young lady left quite a legacy at Yarmouth High and we haven’t heard the last of her yet.

Coach Ann Harradon’s comment: “I have enjoyed having Hannah on the team for the past four years. She has matured from a shy freshman to a self-confident senior. Her tennis game has improved as her confidence grew. Making it to the round of eight in the singles tournament this year and helping to lead the team to the Western Maine Finals was the icing on the cake for her high school tennis career. She has worked hard to improve her game. As a captain, she has helped the underclassmen work hard to become better players. Academically, she was near the top of her class. She is a student-athlete that we will hear great things from in the future.”

2011 winner: Danielle Torres (Lacrosse)

2010 winner: Danielle Torres (Lacrosse)

2009 winner: Haley Knaub (Track)

2008 winner: Nicole Grover (Lacrosse)

2007 winner: Laurie Baker (Lacrosse)

2006 winner: Emily Johnson (Lacrosse)

2005 winner: Chrissie Attura (Lacrosse)

2004 winner: Louise Taylor (Tennis)

2003 winner: Louise Taylor (Tennis)

2002 winner: Christine Clancy (Tennis)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.