Yarmouth Clippers Fall Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0


RED DESMITH, Senior-Golf

  • Class B individual runner-up

  • WMC all-star, first team

Meeting and exceeding expectations from beginning to end this fall, DeSmith helped lead the Clippers to one of the best seasons in program annals.

DeSmith started playing golf at the age of 4, coming to the sport naturally (his father used to own a golf magazine and develops courses). He took to it quickly and worked on getting better. DeSmith joined the Yarmouth varsity as a freshman and honed his game by working at Val Hall Golf Course in the summertime.

As a sophomore, DeSmith shot a 79 at the team state meet, tied for 12th at the individual championships and was named a league all-star. Last year, he shot an 81 at team states, tied for 13th as an individual and again was named an all-star.

This autumn, DeSmith was as good as anyone, going 8-0 in the regular season with a scoring average of 37.9. He shot a 71 at the team state match, then was runner-up with a 77 at the individual championships, finishing three shots shy of Cape Elizabeth’s Reese McFarlane.

DeSmith is also the goalie on the ice hockey team. He’s weighing his college options and isn’t sure if he wants to play in college.

If he does, he’ll make a school very happy. Red DeSmith, Yarmouth’s Fall Male Athlete of the Year, was the model of consistency and excellence and certainly was at his best when it mattered most.

Coach Gregg Baker‘s comment: “Red is a strong player. Every facet of his game is solid and will continue to improve with experience. He has great recovery skills, he’s capable of hitting a bad shot on a hole and still making par or birdie. He loves to play and compete and has a genuine interest in becoming a student of the game. Having Red in the lineup always gave the team a united sense of confidence.”

Prior winners:

2011 Chris Knaub (Soccer)

2010: Luke Pierce (Soccer)

2009: Eric Estabrook (Football)

2008: Johnny Murphy (Soccer)

2007: Johnny Murphy (Soccer)

2006: Cody Lapointe (Soccer)

2005: Tim Murphy (Soccer)

2004: Justin Morrill (Soccer)

2003: Pat Gildart (Soccer)

2002: Greg Abbot (Soccer)

2001: Eoin Lynch (Soccer)



  • State individual runner-up

  • WMC all-star

One of the state’s finest female players, Austin held her own with the boys and enjoyed a tremendous season.

Austin started playing at the age of 6 and has been a fixture on the Yarmouth varsity team since her freshman year. That first season, Austin was fourth in the state with an 89 at the girls’ state match. Last year, Austin tied for second with an 87.

This fall, Austin, who has taken part in New England PGA tournaments during the summer, went 8-1-2 with a scoring average of 41.5. She was the low qualifier with a score of 76, shot a 92 at the Western Maine Conference championship, shooting from the men’s tees, shot an 88 at the team state match and fired an 85 at the girls’ individual state match, placing runner-up for the second year in a row, this time by a single stroke.

“We had a great year,” Austin said. “I still have next year.”

Austin plays guard on the basketball team and is the shortstop in softball. She wants to win that elusive individual title as a senior. She also hopes to play in college. Someplace warm.

First she’ll have another year to strut her stuff and hopefully make it to the top of the heap. Monica Austin, Yarmouth’s Fall Female Athlete of the Year, figures to have a dramatic final act. Don’t miss it.

Coach Gregg Baker‘s comment: “Monica is a fierce competitor. Good distance off the tee and consistent iron play are the strengths of her game. No one worked harder at improving their game than Monica. She always showed sincere interest in how her teammates were doing and took great pride in what they accomplished as a group. The combination of her athleticism and devotion to the game make her a player to watch in the future.”

Prior winners:

2011: Suzanne Driscoll (Volleyball)

2010: Natalie Salmon (Soccer)

2009: Kate Darrell (Volleyball)

2008: Mariah Martin (Field hockey)

2007: Anna Makaretz (Cross country)

2006: Nicole Simmonds (Soccer)

2005: Shannon Gildart (Soccer)

2004: Melissa Moylan (Soccer)

2003: Stephanie Whittaker (Soccer)

2002: Karen Thorp (Cross country)

2001: Danielle McGee (Field hockey)

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.