Winter stars shine in the Midcoast

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Brunswick’s Emily Larochelle was a Class A South all-star this winter.

Mt. Ararat’s Cora Spelke was a KVAC girls’ swimming all-star.

The winter sports season is in the rear-view mirror, but many Midcoast athletes made their mark throughout and were named to postseason all-star teams.

Here’s a recap:

Boys’ basketball

The Class A South boys’ basketball first-team included Noah Cox and Finn Mitchell of Brunswick, Morse’s Tom Warren and Mt. Ararat’s Jared Balser.

Brunswick’s Sam Sharpe and Mt. Ararat’s Austin Damon and Max Spelke made the second-team.

Mt. Ararat’s Balser was named the Class A South Player of the Year.

Brunswick’s Nuri Rosen, Morse’s Arius Eich and Mt. Ararat’s Sean Roberts and Max Spelke qualified for the All-Academic team.

Spelke also qualified for the All-State All-Academic team.

Girls’ basketball

On the girls’ side, in Class A South, Brunswick’s Charlotte MacMillan, Emily Larochelle, Marley Groat and Rosalie White and Mt. Ararat’s Kyla Greenleaf made the first-team.

Brunswick’s Logan Brown and Mt. Ararat’s Theresa Breed were named to the second-team.

Brunswick’s MacMillan was named the Class A South Player of the Year.

Mt. Ararat’s Ainsley Bryant, Grace Liedman and Abby Sirois qualified for the All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s MacMillan represented Class AA/A/B South in the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star Game.

Boys’ hockey

The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference boys’ hockey Class A first-team included Noah Austin of the Mt. Ararat/Morse/Lisbon/Hyde co-op team.

Mt. Ararat’s Cam Poisson was named to the second-team.

Noah Austin was named the KVAC Class A Player of the Year and also won the Travis Roy Award, as the state’s top senior player.

Mt. Ararat’s Cade Charron qualified for the KVAC All-Academic team.

Mt. Ararat’s A.J. Kavanaugh was selected KVAC Class A Coach of the Year. 

Mt. Ararat’s Austin, Charron and Cam Poisson represented the North in the Class A Senior All-Star Game.

In Class B South, Brunswick’s Jacob Doring and Scout Masse made the third-team.

Brunswick’s Sam Masse was named to the Class B South All-Rookie team.

Brunswick’s Michael Eno played in the Class B Senior All-Star Game.

Girls’ hockey

On the girls’ side, Brunswick’s Beth Labbe and Shea Sullivan made the KVAC second-team.

Brunswick’s Harriet Peabody and Shea Sullivan, Morse’s Laurel Swanson and Mt. Ararat’s Amber Card, Alyssa Dau and Kelsea Dwelley qualified for the KVAC All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s Labbe also was named to the North Region all-star team.

Indoor track

The KVAC Class A boys’ indoor track all-conference team included Brunswick’s Samuel Cenescar, Andrew Chingos, Jack Harvey, Mitchell Lienert, Daniel Lyons, Kian Murray, Hunter Parker, Will Shaughnessy and Joey Valliere and Mt. Ararat’s Tyler Bernier, Holden Brannan, Hutner Lohr, Cameron Orr and Grady Satterfield.

Brunswick’s Lienert and Shaughnessy were named KVAC Co-Male Athletes of the Year.

Brunswick’s Donald Bromiley, Aiden Glover, Logan Holt, Daniel Lyons and Kian Murray and Mt. Ararat’s Tyler Bernier, Jax Hollenbach, Hunter Lohr, Jack Mathieu and Ethan Rac qualified for the All-Academic team.

In Class B, Morse’s Thomas Trundey qualified for the All-Academic team.

The boys’ all-state first-team included Brunswick’s Shaugnessy.

Brunswick’s Cenescar made the second-team.

On the girls’ side, the Class A all-conference team included Brunswick’s Isabella Banks, Kaeden Green, Aela Hemberger, Tea Kepler and Maddie Wayne and Mt. Ararat’s Jackie Brochu, Wyley Fitzpatrick, Campbell Tankersley, Holly Temple, Mary Wheeler and Sara York.

Brunswick’s Tea Kepler and Desiree Tanner and Mt. Ararat’s Caitlin Chambers, Emma Pottle, Emily Smith, Zoe Stevenson, Campbell Tankersley and Sara York qualified for the All-Academic team.

In Class B, Morse’s Mae Winglass qualified for the All-Academic team.


The KVAC Class A boys’ swim all-star team featured Brunswick’s Nicco Bartone, Chris Tucker, Matt Yost and Cam Ashby and Mt. Ararat’s Anibal Berry-Gaviria, Nathaniel Smith, Nicolas Holland, Robert Hyde, Caleb Williams and Max Bickford.

Brunswick’s Trey Curtis, Parker Eckert, Chris Tucker and Matt Yost qualified for the All-Academic team.

The Class B squad included Morse’s Evan Willertz, Brandon Johnson, Dominic Marco and Alex Gurney.

The boys’ All-State team included Brunswick’s Bartone (100 breaststroke and 200 free relay), Morse’s Johnson (200 free relay) and Willertz (100 backstroke) and Mt. Ararat’s Berry-Gaviria (diving).

On the girls’ side, the Class A all-star team featured Mt. Ararat’s Cora Spelke. 

Brunswick’s Katherine Hartnett, Elinore Kosak, Anna Kousky, Alex Morse and Emma White and Mt. Ararat’s Bethany Dube and Riley Robertson qualified for the All-Academic team.

In Class B, Morse’s Olivia Harper, Haily Harper, Olivia Cunningham, Emma Warner, Ella Martin, Carolina Skroski, Fionna Cashman and Sadie Woodruff made the all-star team. 

Morse’s Sarah Berkowitz, Ella Martin and Emma Warner made the All-Academic team.

The girls’ All-State team included Morse’s Haily Harper (200 IM, 100 breaststroke, medley relay and 400 free relay), Olivia Harper (50 free, 100 backstroke, medley relay, 200 free relay) and Martin (50 free, 100 free, 200 free relay and 400 free relay) and Mt. Ararat’s Spelke (medley relay)


Brunswick’s Zoe Battle, Erin Coughlin, Ben Donsbach and Ryan Duffy qualified for the KVAC All-Academic team.


The KVAC wrestling first-team included Brycen Kowalsky (113 pounds) and Mason Hultman (170) of state champion Mt. Ararat/Brunswick and Morse’s Ihsan Myers (182). 

The second-team featured Mt. Ararat’s Spencer LeClair (132), Caden Kowalsky (138), Ben Laurence (12), Cody Holman (160) and Brady Mitchell-Damms (195). 

Mt. Ararat’s Neringa Parutyte qualified for the KVAC All-Academic team.

Mt. Ararat’s Erick Jensen was named Class A co-Coach of the Year, along with Cony’s Shawn Totman.


Mt. Ararat’s Avery Estela made the KVAC Class A cheering first-team.

Mt. Ararat’s Amanda O’Neill made the second-team.

In Class B, Morse’s Elli Bonzagni made the first-team.

Morse’s Courtney Nicolino was named to the second-team.

Mt. Ararat’s Carolina Razera qualified for the KVAC All-Academic team.