Who's on the Primary Election ballot, where to vote in Portland

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

PORTLAND — Ranked-choice voting, a $110.6 million school budget, and three contested Democratic Party primaries are on the June 12 ballot.

So are the party primaries for governor, U.S. Senate, and the 1st Congressional District.

New to the ballot process is ranked-choice voting for the gubernatorial party primaries. In a state referendum, voters will also be asked to keep the ranked-choice system or delay it until 2022.

In the primary races in Cumberland County for district attorney and probate judge, ranked-choice voting will not be used.  Jon Gale, Frayla Tarpinian and Seth Levy are vying for the Democratic nomination for Cumberland County DA, while Democrats Paul Aranson, Charles Kahill and Ruben Segal are seeking the judge of probate nomination.

Randall Bates is the sole Republican candidate to replace District Attorney Stephanie Anderson, a Republican who is not seeking re-election after seven terms in office. Independent candidate Jonathan Sahrbeck will also be on the Nov. 6 general election ballot. No Republicans filed for the judge of probate primary.

With the exception of House District 40 and Senate District 28, none of the primaries for the city’s delegation to Augusta are contested. 

In House District 40, covering the Bayside and Parkside neighborhoods, incumbent Rep. Rachel Talbot Ross is challenged by former Rep. Herb Adams. There is no GOP candidate.

In House District 36, reaching to the northern and western city limits, former Mayor Michael Brennan is unopposed for the Democratic nomination to replace Rep. Denise Harlow.

Republican Samuel Ledue is also unopposed. Harlow, an independent, is stepping aside due to state term limits.

In House District 37, Rep. Richard Farnsworth, the Democratic incumbent, has no primary opposition. Jane Frey is the sole GOP candidate in the district extending south and west from Brighton Avenue.

In House District 38, covering the city’s West End, incumbent Democratic Rep. Matthew Moonen has a clear path to his fourth term; he is unopposed in the primary and there is no Republican candidate.

In House District 39, covering Munjoy Hill and the city’s Casco Bay Islands, incumbent Rep. Michael Sylvester, a Democrat, and Republican Peter Doyle are the sole primary candidates for their parties.

Democratic incumbent Rep. Erik Jorgensen and Republican Dr. James Azzola are seeking their party nominations in House District 41, which covers Deering Center. 

In House District 42, covering East Deering, Rep. Benjamin Collings, the Democratic incumbent, and Republican Susan Abercrombie are unopposed in their party’s primaries.

April Fournier’s name is on the Democratic ballot, but she withdrew from the race. Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap on May 29 said any votes for Fournier would be counted as blanks. 

The House District 43 seat, which represents northern and western Portland and a section of Falmouth, is open because Rep. Heather Sanborn is running for the state Senate. Democrat W. Edward Crockett and Republican Cathleen Nichols are seeking their party’s nominations without opposition.

In state Senate District 27, Sen. Ben Chipman, a Democrat, is unopposed in the primary while seeking his second term. The GOP primary candidate is Joshua Kelton. Independent candidate Crystal Canney will be running in the Nov. 6 general election.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, June 12. Polling places are District 1-1, East End Elementary School, 195 North St.; District 1-2, Merrill Auditorium Rehearsal Hall, 20 Myrtle St.; District 1-3, St. Christopher’s Church, 15 Central Ave., Peaks Island; District 2-1, Reiche Elementary School, 166 Brackett St.; District 2-2, Exposition Building, 239 Park Ave.; District 3-1, Woodfords Club, 179 Woodfords St.; District 3-2, Italian Heritage Center, 40 Westland Ave.; District 4-1, St. Pius Church, 492 Ocean Ave.; District 4-2, First Baptist Church, 360 Canco Road; District 5-1, Deering High School gymnasium, 370 Stevens Ave. (access via Leland Street entrance), and District 5-2, Grace Baptist Church gymnasium, 476 Summit St.

To find the proper polling place, visit https://bit.ly/2se5SsH.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or dharry@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Portland City Hall reporter for The Forecaster. Baltimore native, lived in Maine since 1989. A journalist since 2005, covering much of Cumberland and York counties. I joined The Forecaster in 2012.