Waynflete Flyers Winter Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

2011-12 Winter Male Athlete of the Year:

LUKE JETON, Junior-Swimming


* Southwesterns champion, 500 freestyle

* Southwesterns runner-up, 200 freestyle

* Class B runner-up, 500 freestyle

* Class B runner-up, 200 freestyle

* Southern Maine Swim League all-star, second-team, 500 freestyle

* Team’s Outstanding Performer

* Team captain

Jeton has certainly enjoyed unique circumstances during his two seasons swimming for the fledgling Flyers program. Last year, he was the only boy on the team and he led Waynflete to a 19th place team finish by finishing runner-up in the 500 freestyle and sixth in the 200 free.

This winter, Jeton, who lives in Acton and started swimming at the age of 8, had some male teammates (although you have to believe he didn’t mind the discrepancy the prior year) and continued to perform as one of the finest distance swimmers around.

After a solid regular season, Jeton again was at his best in February, winning the 500 free and placing runner-up in the 200 free at Southwesterns. At the Class B state meet, where the Flyers rose to a 13th-place finish, Jeton was second in both the 200 free and 500 free.

Jeton swims for the Sanford Titans club team and really enjoys the fun he has swimming for his high school squad. He belongs to the Waynflete Chess and Movie Clubs and is the catcher on the baseball team in the spring. He still hopes to qualify for nationals before swimming in college. He’s in the process of selecting a school.

Don’t be surprised if a state title is his final high school feat.

Coach Jim Harvey’s comment: “Luke was a very important team member this year. We had seven new swimmers and as a captain, Luke led not only by example at meets, but also helped at practices with improving the technique to many of the new swimmers. He is a very dedicated swimmer and works extremely hard at practices. Obviously, this year that hard work paid off. I look forward to his senior year.”

2010-11 winner: Joe Veroneau (Basketball)

2009-10 winner; Nate Niles (Nordic skiing)

2008-09 winner: Hassan Jeylani (Basketball)

2007-08 winner: Tom Reagan (Nordic skiing)

2006-07 winner: Lucas Milliken (Nordic skiing)

2005-06 winner: Lucas Milliken (Nordic skiing)

2004-05 winner: David Wells (Swimming)

2003-04 winner: Jeff Bates (Nordic skiing)

2011-12 Winter Female Athlete of the Year:

MARTHA VERONEAU, Junior-Basketball


* Record holder for points in Western Class C tournament game (47)

* Robin Colcord Award winner (MVP of Western C tournament)

* WMC All-Star, Class C first team

* WMC leading scorer

* Team MVP

Veroneau is undoubtedly one of the state’s most talented players, but it’s her tenacity, burning desire and love of the game that pushes her to another stratosphere.

The Portland resident and longtime Waynflete student grew up in a basketball-loving family and her reputation preceded her arrival in a Flyers uniform. She made a splash as a freshman, then led the Western Maine Conference in scoring as a sophomore, earning Winter Athlete of the Year honors.

This season was fraught with challenges as injuries (including an ankle malady of her own) threatened to keep Waynflete from the playoffs altogether, but Veroneau came up big time and again.

Highlights included 16 points in a season-opening win over Old Orchard Beach, a 25-point eruption in a close loss to eventual Western B champion Lake Region, 28 points against Sacopee, 20 versus North Yarmouth Academy, 16 against Cape Elizabeth, 15 in a close loss to Fryeburg and after returning from the ankle injury, 16 versus Wells, 19 against Hyde, 21 versus Greater Portland Christian and 21 against Sacopee in the finale.

Waynflete won its final six games to earn the No. 7 seed in the region. The Flyers had to beat Lisbon in a prelim to make it to Augusta and did so behind a 31-point, eight-rebound, four-steal, four-assist effort from their star. At the Augusta Civic Center, Veroneau had 20 points (despite foul trouble) in a quarterfinal round upset of Madison, then etched her name in the record books with 47 points, including nine 3-pointers (which broke her prior record of seven) in another upset, this time over Boothbay. Veroneau then managed 16 points and nine rebounds, but Waynflete’s run ended with a narrow loss to Hall-Dale in the regional final. Despite the loss, Veroneau was named the MVP of the regional tournament.

Veroneau again led the league in scoring, wound up with a 20.1 points per game scoring average, had 47 made 3-pointers, averaged 7.3 rebounds (including 13-board efforts against both Wells and Cape Elizabeth), 3.5 steals and 2.9 assists (seventh in the league). Veroneau has 971 points for her career and will join older sister Margaret on the school’s exclusive 1,000-point scoring list early next year (perhaps even in the opener). She might also equal her sister with three Athlete of the Year citations if all goes well.

Veroneau, who also runs cross-country and is a standout in lacrosse, volunteers with elementary students and at Maine Medical Center. She’s interested in pursuing a nursing career and isn’t sure if she’ll play in college.

Whatever it takes, catch her show in person next season. It promises to be memorable and when all is said and done, could even be golden.

Coach Brandon Salway’s comment: “Martha’s the most complete player I’ve ever coached. She can do it all. She played with poise, amazing determination and enthusiasm this season. She inspired her teammates and made everyone around her better. She had memorable individual scoring and shooting performances and she continued to improve her offensive skills. I think every who saw us play knows that. However, her attitude, intelligence, leadership, court awareness and will to win were equally impressive. She was a coach on the floor, especially for the younger players. Martha was the catalyst and glue to our team. She’s a special player who is always competing and working to improve. I think the world of her as a player and a person.”

2010-11 winner: Martha Veroneau (Basketball)

2009-10 winner: Morgan Woodhouse (Basketball)

2008-09 winner: Annie Cutler (Basketball)

2007-08 winner: Margaret Veroneau (Basketball)

2006-07 winner: Margaret Veroneau (Basketball)

2005-06 winner: Margaret Veroneau (Basketball)

2004-05 winner: Holly Whitney (Nordic skiing)

2003-04 winner: Betsy Critchfield (Nordic skiing)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.