Uncontested primaries fill Portland ballot

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

PORTLAND — The district numbers are new, but many faces are the same in a slate of uncontested primary elections on the June 10 ballot.

Redistricting by the state Legislature has renumbered the city’s two state Senate and eight state House of Representatives districts, but the incumbents from the old districts are all seeking re-election.

The only contested primary race on the ballot is for the Democratic nomination for Cumberland County sheriff, pitting incumbent Sheriff Kevin Joyce against Cumberland Town Councilor and former Maine State Police Sgt. Michael Edes.

Barring the emergence of an independent or write-in candidate, the primary winner will be unopposed in the Nov. 4 general election because the Republicans and Greens have no candidates entered in the June 10 primary.

All three political parties have fielded primary candidates for many of the open Legislature seats.

In what is now Senate District 27, Senate President Justin Alfond, a Democrat, is on the ballot, as are Republican Peter Doyle and Green Independent Asher Platts. The district covers the eastern part of the city and Casco Bay islands.

Democratic Sen. Anne Haskell is seeking election in the new Senate District 28, which spans western Portland and an eastern portion of Westbrook. Republican and Westbrook resident Rose Marie Russell is on the ballot, as is Green Independent Danielle Unterreiner.

The eight House seats also have uncontested primaries, and nearly all have candidates from the three parties.

In House District 36, Rep. Denise Harlow, a Democrat, and Republican Richard Dodge and Green Independent Samuel Chandler, are on party ballots. The House District 37 ballots include incumbent Democrat Richard Farnsworth and Republican Jonathan Pfaff.

In House District 38, incumbent Democratic Rep. Matthew Moonen, Republican Daniel Olson and Green Independent Thomas MacMillan are on ballots. House District 39 has Rep. Diane Russell, a Democratic incumbent, Republican Ashley Ryan, and Green Independent Benjamin Schattenburg.

In House District 40, independent incumbent Rep. Benjamin Chipman will not appear on a primary ballot, but has filed to run in the November general election. Democratic voters will see former Rep. Herb Adams looking to return to Augusta, while Mark Lockman is the Republican candidate.

Democratic Rep. Erik Jorgensen is on his party’s ballot in House District 41, as are Republican James Azzola and Green Independent Reed Berkowitz. In House District 42, incumbent Rep. Peter Stuckey is on the Democratic ballot, while Marc A. Lamontagne is running for the Republicans.

Incumbent Democratic Rep. Mark Dion is on his party’s ballot in House District 43. Shannon Rafferty-Roy is the Republican candidate in the district, which also includes part of Falmouth.

Absentee ballots are available at City Hall in the clerk’s office through Thursday. Ballots can be cast there until 7 p.m. Thursday, and must be returned by 8 p.m. June 10.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or dharry@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Sidebar Elements

Where to vote June 10

Portland polls will be open 7 a.m.-8 p.m. June 10 for primary elections and the referendum to revise the city’s land bank ordinance. Here’s where to vote:

• District 1-1: East End Elementary School, 195 North St.

• District 1-2: Merrill Auditorium Rehearsal Hall, 20 Myrtle St.

• District 1-3: Peaks Island Community Hall, Peaks Island.

• District 2-1: Reiche Elementary School, 166 Brackett St.

• District 2-2: Exposition Building, 239 Park Ave.

• District 3-1: Woodfords Congregational Church, 202 Woodfords St.

• District 3-2: Italian Heritage Center, 40 Westland Ave.

• District 4-1: St. Pius Church, 492 Ocean Ave.

• District 4-2: First Baptist Church, 360 Canco Road

• District 5-1: Stevens Avenue Armory, 772 Stevens Ave.

• District 5-2: Grace Baptist gymnasium, 476 Summit St.

Absentee ballots are available at the City Clerk’s office weekdays from 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m., and can be cast at City Hall until 7 p.m. Thursday, June 5. All absentee ballots must be cast by 8 p.m. June 10.

For more information on districts and the referendum, call City Clerk Kathleen Jones at 874-8610 or email cityclerk@portlandmaine.gov.

Portland City Hall reporter for The Forecaster. Baltimore native, lived in Maine since 1989. A journalist since 2005, covering much of Cumberland and York counties. I joined The Forecaster in 2012.