Town elections uncontested in Cape Elizabeth; Swift-Kayatta won't seek re-election to council

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

CAPE ELIZABETH — Barring any write-in candidates, the Town Council and School Board elections will be uncontested in November.

Two first-time candidates are on the ballot for the School Board, while a town government veteran has decided not to seek re-election.

Councilor Anne Swift-Kayatta, who has served for 12 years, said in a written statement that after “considerable thought” she decided not to seek another term.

“The town seems to be in good shape at present and I have served as a councilor for over 12 years now, so I thought it was a good time to take a break,” she said.

Swift-Kayatta said it has been an “honor and a pleasure” to serve and that she appreciates the council and town staff’s help, hard work, candor, and good humor.

Current School Board member Kathy Ray of Spurwink Avenue is running to replace Swift-Kayatta. Incumbent Council Chairman David Sherman of Hunts Point Road is seeking re-election.

Unless there is a successful write-in campaign, Ray and Sherman will be elected to three-year terms on the council.

The School Board election is also uncontested, with Elizabeth Scifres of Longfellow Drive and Joanna Morrissey of Old Fort Road running to fill two three-year terms. The seats are currently held by Chairwoman Mary Townsend and Ray.

Townsend, a resident of Pearl Street, is unopposed for the two-year, unexpired term of Kim Monaghan-Derrig, who was recently elected to the state House of Representatives.

Election Day is Nov. 8. Polls will be open at the Cape Elizabeth High School gymnasium from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or Follow her on Twitter: @amy_k_anderson