Spring Athletes of the Year: Waynflete Flyers

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Spring 2010 Male Athlete of the Year:


* State singles champion

* WMC All-Conference, first team

The legacy of Brandon Thompson continues to grow.

In three high school seasons, he’s led Waynflete to Class C championships every year. He added a singles state title this spring and has become not only the best player in the state, but one who is highly respected by teammate and foe alike. One also who will be highly coveted at the next level.

All of those factors convinced The Forecaster to name Brandon Thompson Waynflete’s Spring 2010 Male Athlete of the Year, marking the third year in a row he’s been honored.

Thompson started playing tennis at the age of eight and immediately made his mark at the high school level. He stepped right into the top singles role as a freshman and made it to the singles final (losing to Mt. Ararat’s Mike Hill) while helping the Flyers win the state title. Deja vu was in store his sophomore year as he again lost to Hill, but led Waynflete to the Class C pinnacle.

This time around, no one could stop him.

Thompson won all eight of his regular season matches in straight sets, dropping only 20 games in the process. In the singles tournament, he lost only 16 games in beating every foe in straight sets, including teammate Patrick Ordway in the final. In the team playoffs, Thompson losing only one game in three straight set victories.

Thompson will compete in tournaments over the summer and can expect to hear from a lot of interested colleges in the months to come. He’s like to go somewhere warmer, where he can play outdoors for a longer period of time.

It’s hard to imagine what’s next for Thompson to conquer. He’s already won everything there is to win at the high school level. Just make sure you enjoy him while you still can as he looks to cap his dominant career with more glory next year.

Based on his resume to date, continued excellence is a certainty for Brandon Thompson, Waynflete’s Spring 2010 Male Athlete of the Year.

Coach Jeff Madore’s comment: “Brandon is a really coachable kid. He’s very intelligent, but also very modest and reserved. He sets a great example with his sportsmanship and respect for the opposition on and off the court. He faced a lot of expectations this year and met them.”

2009 winner: Brandon Thompson (tennis)

2008 winner: Brandon Thompson (tennis)

2007 winner: David Cutler (lacrosse)

2006 winner: Ben Whipple (tennis)

2005 winner: Reid McMullan (lacrosse)

2004 winner: Matt Lacasse (track)

Spring 2010 Female Athlete of the Year:


* All-American

* WMC All-Conference, first team

* Senior All-Star

For four years, through 12 sports seasons, Morgan Woodhouse has etched her name in Waynflete lore.

Naturally, she saved one of her most dazzling campaigns for last.

Helping an unproven Flyers team make it back to the state final, Woodhouse dominated all over the field this spring, winning draws, stealing the ball on defense, transitioning without rival and producing a scoring touch that opposing goalies could only flail away at helplessly.

Woodhouse was at her best on the biggest stage, winding up as arguably the state’s best female player. In light of all of her accomplishments this spring, combined with her sensational career, it was easy for The Forecaster to name Morgan Woodhouse Waynflete’s Spring 2010 Female Athlete of the Year.

Woodhouse has spent her whole academic career at Waynflete and captured athletic headlines throughout her four high school years.

On the pitch in the fall, Woodhouse scored countless pivotal goals, led the Flyers to a Class C championship and two other regional finals. In the winter, she emerged as one of the state’s finest post players on the hardwood, helping unheralded Waynflete reach the Western C Final in both her junior and senior seasons. Although lacrosse isn’t her top sport, she was a natural, and played an integral role on the 2008 and 2009 state titlists.

This spring, she excelled virtually every time out, scoring three times against NYA, four times against Yarmouth, five (with four assists) versus Cheverus, four times against Kennebunk, four at Yarmouth and four in a season-ending home loss to NYA. The biggest thrill came May 12 in a 15-5 win at Falmouth, when, on her 18th birthday, Woodhouse had seven goals. She also won 18 of 20 draws in a win at Cape Elizabeth.

In the playoffs, Woodhouse had five goals against Wells in the semifinals and led her team with two in the state game loss to NYA.

For the season, Woodhouse had 51 goals and 27 assists. She was named an All-American for the second consecutive season.

She takes her show to Bowdoin College next year, but won’t be forgotten at a certain small private school in the West End. Morgan Woodhouse, Waynflete’s Spring 2010 Female Athlete of the Year, has set the standard for superb performance.

Coach Cathie Connors’ comment: “Morgan is a natural team leader and an exceptional role model for younger players. She was crucial all over the field for us. She’s an accomplished athlete, but always remains modest and humble. I’m sure her name will be brought up for years to come.”

2009 winner: Christine Ordway (tennis)

2008 winner; Laura Armstrong (lacrosse)

2007 winner: Christine Ordway (tennis)

2006 winner: Christine Ordway (tennis)

2005 winner: Gretchen Koch (lacrosse)

2004 winner: Lily Hoffman (lacrosse)

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.