Spring all-stars were plentiful

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Once again in 2011, local spring standouts produced all-star performances aplenty and were awarded for their play.

Whether the sport was baseball, softball, lacrosse, track or tennis, the best athletes from the area made an indelible mark.

Here’s a glimpse at the spring all-star teams and who was selected.


The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference south division first team included Brunswick’s Max Roberts and Morse’s Zack Groat.

Brunswick’s Alex Emery and Shane Lizotte, along with Mt. Ararat’s Torrey Charnock, made the second team.

Brunswick’s Luke Carter, Morse’s Caleb Edmondson, managers Emily Buczkowski and Kathleen Crosby and Mt. Ararat’s Tyler Geyer, Nick Karkos and manager Josh Walker qualified for the All-Academic team.


The KVAC softball south division first team boasted Morse’s Emma Seeley and Mt. Ararat’s Taylor Pare and Miranda Riendeau-Card, who was chosen the Player of the Year.

Brunswick’s Rachel Moroney and Jen Wenzler and Mt. Ararat’s Shuana Williams were second team selections.

Brunswick’s Victoria Oliver and Wenzler, Morse’s Kimberly Ambrose and Mt. Ararat’s Kirstin DeMars, Riendeau-Card and Sara Rogers qualified for the All-Academic team.

Boys’ lacrosse

The KVAC boys’ lacrosse Class A first team included Brunswick defender Derrick DeRosa and Mt. Ararat attack Casey Becker and longstick middie Rolanda Amador.

Brunswick middie Burleigh Desjardins, longstick middie Kyle Webb and goalie James Wilgus, along with Mt. Ararat defender Robert Cornelison and middie Nick Parson, made the second team.

Brunswick’s George Mills and Mt. Ararat’s Amador and Ian Ouellette qualified for the All-Academic team.

In Class B, the first team included Morse longstick middie Schuyler Mace, attack Alexander Paulus and defender Jay York.

Brunswick’s DaRosa and Mt. Ararat’s Casey Becker played for the Class A team in the Senior All-Star Game, which lost, 19-9, to Class B, a team which included Morse’s York.

Brunswick’s Jason Miller was selected Maine’s Assistant Coach of the Year.

Girls’ lacrosse

On the girls’ side, the KVAC first team boasted Brunswick’s Dakota Foster, Molly Herman and Corinne O’Connor, Morse’s Tori Field and Mt. Ararat’s Haley Michaud.

Brunswick’s Anne Kelley, Morse’s Shannon Rice and Lindsay Watts and Mt. Ararat’s Heather Bolduc were named to the second team.

Foster was named Player of the Year.

Brunswick’s Kelsie Jenquine and Olivia Robbins, Morse’s Emily Howell, Hannah Milam, Rachel Rossetti, Lindsay Watts and Kelsey White and Mt. Ararat’s Heather Bolduc, Mercedes Henke and Callie Kirk qualified for the All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s Robbins and Morse’s Watts played in the Senior All-Star Game.

The All-American All-Academic team included Brunswick’s Jenquine, Ann Kelly, Suzannah Smith, Katherine Swan and Caroline Wild, Morse’s Milam, Shannon Rice and Christina Stuart and Mt. Ararat’s Maggie Bouchard, Anna Bruning, Rowley Jones and Haley Michaud.


The KVAC boys’ outdoor track Class A team included Brunswick’s Benson Worthington, Dylan Walton, Jamie Ross, Mitchell Black, Mike Slovenski and Patrick Horan and Mt. Ararat’s Joey Fournier, Gary McKenzie and Jamie Rosenberg.

The All-Academic team included Brunswick’s Jan Porstmann and Mike Slovenski and Mt. Ararat’s Nick Demosthenes, Joey Fournier, David Green, Jake Letourneau, Jake Ludwig, Jamie Rosenberg, Connor Schneider and Alex Spies.

On the girls’ side, the Class A all-star team featured Brunswick’s Alexis Dickinson, Anna Turner, Farren Welzel, Haley Murano, Kathleen McMahon, Kyia Jensen, Teresa Murphy and Sabrina Levesque, Morse’s Kerry Cummings and Mt. Ararat’s Colby Gail, Maddison Prescott, Nicole Ross and Randi London.

The All-Academic team featured Mt. Ararat’s Erin Bowen, Chloe Emerson, Colby Gail, Val Johnstone, Randi London, Mikaela Melcher, Megan Rosenberg and Kate Spies.


The KVAC Class A boys’ tennis south division second team included Mt. Ararat’s Adam Levesque at first singles and Malcolm Marshall at second singles, along with Brunswick’s John Gross (third singles), Jimmy Kenyon and Henry Ditzel (first doubles) and Cormick Gaughran and Steven Andreotti (second doubles).

Brunswick’s Garrett Brann and Mt. Ararat’s Nick Ciminello and Kris Reed qualified for the All-Academic team.

Morse’s Sam Leeman was a second team first singles selection in Class B.

Morse’s Henry Conroy, Linde Cook, Charles Oddleifson and Zachery Shaw were members of the All-Academic team.

On the girls’ side, the Class A south division first team included Brunswick’s Maisie Silverman at first singles, Erin Kenyon and Shannon Kenyon at first doubles and Laura Pavitt and Sara Freshley at second doubles.

The second team included Brunswick’s Rachel Gross (second singles) and Willa Purcell (third singles).

Brunswick’s Austin Gay and Gross made the All-Academic team.

Morse’s Ara Foster and Jamie Thomas qualified for the Class B All-Academic team.

Morse’s Barbara Boyce was named Coach of the Year.

Congratulations to all our all-stars for giving us a season to remember!

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Mt. Ararat’s Taylor Pare took her lumps, but was named to the KVAC softball all-star first-team this spring.

Brunswick goalie James Wilgus made the KVAC all-star team.

Morse’s Alexander Paulus was a KVAC boys’ lacrosse first-team all-star in 2011.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.