Southern School Notebook: June 3

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Holy Cross School
2009-2010 Third Quarter Honor Roll

Grade 5: Schuyler Black, Anthony Buzzell, Abby Donahue, Luke Foster, Zoe Johnson, Kaylin Malmquist, Cassidy McCusker, Sara Stovall, Meredith Wheeler.

Grade 6:
Helena Arbo, Jacob Boles, Hunter Griffiths, Philip Hawley, Michelle Jordan, Daniel Mazza, Jack Olore, Elizabeth Poulin, Melissa Stein, Luke Trickey, Shannon Wright.

Grade 7: Patrick Conroy, Greta DiPierro, Sean Foley, Viviane Kostin, Nicholas Noyes, Kathleen O’Brien, Haylee Walsh.

Grade 8: Fred Baldenweck, Irene Baldenweck, Ethan Benevides, Senna Bui, Gillian Coates, Emmaline Longnecker, Emily Mazza, David Philiphose, Grace York.

SPHS inducts National
Honor Society members

SOUTH PORTLAND — Twenty-seven students from South Portland High School were recently inducted into the National Honor Society.

Members are selected by a faculty council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Students inducted this year are Courtney Perruzzi, Eric Mills, Irene Merrow, Samuel Ouellette, Adam Sellick, Alicia Harvey, Amanda Junkins, Amanda Linscott, Brian Campbell, Brittany Harrison, Callaghan Skillings, Hailey Grohman, Kelsey Berglund, Kyle Burnham, Maria Letourneau, Matthew Welch, Maureen Blanchard, Michael Kennedy, Morgan Lundgren, Nicole Laplante, Olivia Ledue, Samantha Drivas, Samuel Redstone, Sydney Damian-Loring, Thomas Redstone, Tomlinson Ellis, and William Darling.

Allen earns Portland
Rotary scholarship

PORTLAND — The Portland Rotary Club awarded the Youth Service Scholarship Award to Amy Allen of South Portland for Waynflete School.

The award is made to students who best exemplify the Rotary motto of “service above self.”

In addition to the scholarship, a contribution was made to the Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital in her name.


Sidebar Elements

South Portland’s Memorial Middle School has launched an innovative program to teach students poetry thanks to a $600 grant from Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution. The program includes a poetry workshop led by a local poet who will help the students create poetry and publish online via a podcast on the school’s website. Pictured here getting prepared for the workshop are, from bottom left, clockwise, Antonia Frisco, Melanie Lee, Nancy Hutto, Sam Cross, Zared Wilvurn, and Sherry Dolloff.