Southern School Notebook: Feb. 21

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

South Portland High School jazz bands receive awards

South Portland High School’s Jazz Combo and Jazz Ensemble both received 3rd place awards Feb. 8, at the Berklee Jazz Festival which was held at the Hynes Convention Center in Boston, Mass. Berklee College of Music’s annual event is the largest of its kind in the United States. Big bands, combos and vocal jazz ensembles performed and competed throughout the day. All ensembles are adjudicated by a panel of Berklee’s top faculty. The SPHS Jazz Combo and the Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Craig Skeffington, not only received 3rd place awards but junior trumpet player, Alex Quinn received Outstanding Musicianship Awards for both the Combo and Jazz Ensemble. 

Cape students and teacher to receive award

Cape Elizabeth High School students and teacher, Jim Ray, will receive the Camp Susan Curtis Spirit Award at this year’s Camp Susan Curtis Leadership Celebration to recognize their construction of approximately 60 bunk beds for the children of Camp Susan Curtis. The beds, built by Cape students as part of their learning experience, will replace the outdated metal beds that came with the Camp when it was purchased in 1971 by Governor Ken Curtis, his wife, Polly, and the Founders of Camp Susan Curtis in memory of the Curtis’ daughter, Susan. The new, wooden beds are sturdy, safe and beautiful. Materials for the beds have been financed through donations and through the generosity of Phinney Lumber in Gorham. The award is one of three to be awarded at the Foundation’s annual Celebration held Friday, March 28. It will be held at the Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks in South Portland. More information and tickets for the event are available by visiting The Susan L. Curtis Charitable Foundation website at or by calling 774-1552.

Greater Portland Christian School Quarter 2 honor roll

High Honors

Sam Whiting, Rachel Ruel, James Rudolph, Abby Morabito, David Frye, David Davol, Kaylee Mutrie, Magdalene Meek 


Grace Crook, Hannah Hazel, Heather Hazel, Lydia Chick, Ashley Imle, Chris Purinton, Jessica Smith, Angela Jones, Erin Robinson, Jeremiah Hammond, Natalie Smith, Eve Diby, Anna Good, Samuel Roach, Megan Smith, Maysen Wilson, Clairette Kirezi, Joshua Murray.