South School Notebook

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Shed helps students fully enjoy recess

CAPE ELIZABETH — Students at Aucocisco School have gained a new shed for storing their playground equipment and gardening tools.

Two years ago Kathy Condon, a recently retired teacher, and two students put their thinking caps on once a week in “shed club,” and came up with a design for a storage shed. They sent their design to the Portland Arts and Technology High School, where students spent the 2010-2011 school year building the double compartment shed. The shed was recently delivered and the site was prepared thanks to donations of time and effort by the Davis family and partners Tim Davison and Kevin Davis of Engineered Construction Services.

The two compartments in the shed house gardening tools and playground equipment separately so students do not need to waste precious recess time digging around for toys.

Scarborough student stays “Up ’til Dawn” for St. Jude’s

SCARBOROUGH — Julia Agger of Scarborough recently joined other Marist College students in the “Up ’til Dawn” fundraiser for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, Tenn.

“Up ’til Dawn” is a three-day event organized by the college’s Student Government Association in which students spread awareness and raise funds by staying up all night to write letters to friends and family, asking for donations to St. Jude’s.

Mahoney Middle School Honor Roll

SOUTH PORTLAND — Sixth grade high honors: Lindsey Ayre, Delphi Bourassa, Lilliana Brandao, Abby Cavallaro-Lee, Sophie Chase, Thomas Costin, Madison Cyr, Jennifer Diphilippo, Riley Ellis, Paige Fleming, Caitlin Greene, Grace Hartley, Andrew Leblanc, Molly Malczynski, Jackson Martin, Daniel Mickiewicz, Shannon Murphy, Leif Olson, Luke Rainsford, Maeve Ratliff, Amelia Scofield, Juliana Selser, Alivia Sobey, Jiwana Soleimani, Lily Tedford, Jack Vose-Gimbel, Lionel Whitehead and Hannah Yesse.

Sixth grade honors
: Olivia Adams, David Albert, Joseph Amnott, Kaya Backman, Carolyn Breau, Stella Cooley, Charles Cronin, Sophia Devou, Elizabeth Foster, Jared Foster, Erica Glidden, Asael Gonzalez, Meghan Graff, Jacob Hardin, Joshua Harmon, Rachel Haynes, Spencer Houlette, Kayla Hulsey, Matthew Ingham, Michael Ingham, Zachary Johnson, Khemara Johnston, Maeve Kelley, Zachary Krohn, Cora Loring, Noah Malone, Patrick Martin, Jacob Mason, Elyse McFarquhar, Jack Napolitano, Jesse Pearlman, Andreas Sandoval, Sean Scott, Rylee Sinclair, Alexandra Sorescu, Brooklynn Soucier, Christopher St. John, John Sullivan, Owen Sullivan, Jack Tierney, Elizabeth VonSeggern, Gina Williams, Jacob Wilson, and Travis York.

Seventh grade high honors: Amanda Bouchard, Eric Brown, Cameron Deiley, Andrew Falconer, Vene Hashimoto, Ansel Hoecker, Aaron Isele, Emma Jones, Robin Jordan, Alexander Keiter, Samuel Kemp, Gabrielle Linscott, Jasmine McKenzie, Brianna Norsworthy, Amelia Papi, Ella Piper, Allyson Pottle, Trevor Richardson, Ellen Stanton, Julia Stanton, Benjamin Tucker, Marian Whited, Gordon Whittemore, Shabnam Yazdanpanah, Joy Zanghi, and Finn Zechman.

Seventh grade honors: Nicholas Aliquo, Isaiah Anderson, Kaitlin Bouchard, Griffin Cardale, Mackenzie Collins, Olivia Doughty, James Ellis, Ethan Frederick, Sky Friedland-Farley, Patrick Graff, Alice Jack, Joseph Jalbert, Michaela Johnson, Teany Johnston, Paige Leary, Brandon Lebourdais, Michael Lehman, Zachary MacDonald, Euan MacLaurin, Sofia McNally, Phoebe Morrison, Michael Myrick, Benedetto Nappi, Victoria Nixon, Khalid Noh, Adam Palmer, Patrick Powers, Kameron Shaw, Brandi Snow, Lexy Snow, Rachel Stanhope, James Stawarz-Danforth, Samuel Troiano, And Trevor York.

Eighth grade high honors: Drew Abramson, Emma Benington, Leah Berry-Sandelin, James Bigbee, Andrew Bradbury, Baleigh Burns, Mary Cronin, Ava Desjardins, Josie Diphilippo, Tara Ford, Sarah Glidden, Mackenzie Jones, Griffin Kelley, Anna Kiselevich, Jack Kunin, Phoebe Little, Casey Loring, Julia Lydon, Eden Martin, Emma Raftice, Adele Small and Olivia White.

Eighth grade honors
: Eythor Antonsson, Samuel Ayre, Noah Blake, Katherine Cabaup, Tristan Campbell, Eli Canfield, Joseph Carpenito, Brady Cyr, Jesse Cyr-Brophy, Gavin Damian-Loring, Maegan Dunbar, Sumner Ellis, Caitlin Gaven, Jackson Haynes, Michael Herrick, Brandon Hewes, Madison Houlette, Edita Isakovic, Claire Jackson, Andrew Jalbert, Maegan Johnson , Margaret Koukos, Kaeli Leddy, Alex Livingston, Gary Maietta, Noah Manning, Ian Mitchell, Ciera Mullen, Cameron Murphy, Krystal Nevells, Jacob Noone, Abigail Rioux, Benjamin Rooker, Julia St. John, Jacquelynn Tanguay, Dejan Tisma, Nicholas Troiano, Caitlyn Tucker and Zachery White.