Some Portland voters have choices in June 14 primaries

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

PORTLAND — City voters will narrow their choices for representation in the Legislature in primary elections to be held Tuesday, June 14.

In six of 10 legislative districts in the city, the races for Democratic, Republican and Green Independent party nominations are uncontested.

The remaining four races are contested by 11 Democrats, with three each seeking state Senate seats in Districts 27 and 28 and House District 40, and two running in House District 39.

The general election is Nov. 8.

In House District 36, which extends from Forest and Allen avenues to the Westbrook boundary, incumbent Democratic Rep. Denise Harlow is the only candidate in the primary following the withdrawal of Republican Dwight Glidden. No Republican stepped forward to be on the primary ballot.

In House District 37, extending west from Libbytown past the Portland International Jetport and north of Brighton Avenue, incumbent Democratic Rep. Richard Farnsworth and Republican Donato Apon are unopposed in their respective primaries.

In House District 38, in the West End, incumbent Democratic Rep. Matthew Moonen and Republican Thomas Loring face no opposition in their races.

House District 39, covering the East End and Casco Bay islands, has Democrats Andrew Edwards and Michael Sylvester competing for their party’s nomination; Republican Peter I. Doyle is unopposed.

Democrats Herb Adams, Anna Kellar and Rachel Talbot Ross each seek the Democratic nomination in House District 40. Republican Carol Taylor and Green Independent Russell Hoskins are unopposed in the district covering Bayside, Parkside and the area around the University of Southern Maine.

Incumbent Democratic Rep. Erik Jorgensen and Republican Dr. James Azzola are unopposed in the House District 41 primaries. The district covers much of the North Deering area around Stevens Avenue.

In House District 42, covering Back Cove and East Deering, Democrat Benjamin Collins and Republican Susan Abercrombie are unopposed in the primary races.

Democrat Heather Sanborn and Republican Jeffrey Langholtz are unopposed in the House District 43 primaries in a district combining northern Portland with a portion of Falmouth.

In Senate District 27, Portland Reps. Ben Chipman and Diane Russell are joined on the ballot by Dr. Charles Radis. Unopposed are Republican Mark Lockman and Green Independent Seth Baker. The district covers The city peninsula, Casco Bay islands extend west along Forest and Allen avenues.

West of Senate District 27 is Senate District 28, which extends into Westbrook. Rep. Mark Dion, City Councilor Jill Duson and Ann Peoples are seeking the Democratic nomination. Republican Karen Usher, of Westbrook, is unopposed.

Also on the ballot are primaries in the 1st Congressional District. Republican candidates Ande Smith of North Yarmouth and Mark Holbrook of Brunswick are competing to face incumbent U.S. Rep. Chellie Pingree, who is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

All city polling places will be open Election Day from 7 a.m.-8 p.m.:

• Precinct 1-1, East End Community School, 195 North St.

• Precinct 1-2, Merrill Rehearsal Hall, 20 Myrtle St.

• Precinct 1-3, Community Hall, Peaks Island.

• Precinct 2-1, Reiche School, 166 Brackett St.

• Precinct 2-2, Exposition Building, 239 Park Ave.

• Precinct 3-1, Woodfords Church, 202 Woodford St.

• Precinct 3-2, Italian Heritage Center, 40 Westland Ave.

• Precinct 4-1, St. Pius Church, 492 Ocean Ave.

• Precinct 4-2, First Baptist Church, 360 Canco Road.

• Precinct 5-1. Deering High School Gym, 370 Stevens Ave.

• Precinct 5-2, Grace Baptist Church Gym, 476 Summit St.

City voters can also determine their polling place by entering their address on the Maine Secretary of State web page, where legislative district maps and sample ballots can also be found.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Portland City Hall reporter for The Forecaster. Baltimore native, lived in Maine since 1989. A journalist since 2005, covering much of Cumberland and York counties. I joined The Forecaster in 2012.