Scarborough Red Storm Winter Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0


Joel Page / Portland Press Herald photo.



JARETT FLAKER, Sophomore-Track

* Class A state champion, 55

* Class A state champion, 200

* Class A state champion, 400

* State record-holder, 55

* State record-holder, 200

* SMAA first-team, senior 55

* SMAA first-team, senior 200

* SMAA first-team, senior 400

* SMAA second-team, senior 55 hurdles

Flaker has run so fast and won so much, it’s hard to believe he’s only in his second year of high school and that he’s only just begun his assault on the record books.

Flaker emerged as a running prodigy at a young age and by middle school, was turning heads. His freshman year at Scarborough, Flaker won the 55 and was runner-up to teammate Sam Rusak in the 200 indoors, then he placed second in the 100 and third in the 300 hurdles outdoors. After helping Scarborough’s football team to a Class A state title this fall, Flaker was the sprinter all others measured themselves against this winter.

Flaker set the tone in the opening meet, winning the senior 55, 200 and 400 and he never looked back. He also posted a first-place showing in the senior 55 hurdles during the regular season. At the SMAA championship meet, Flaker won the senior 55 dash in 6.55 seconds, the senior 200 in 22.57 and the senior 400 in 50.57. Then, at states, he accounted for 30 points all by himself, setting a new state record in the 55 (6.50 seconds) and the 200 (22.32) and also winning the 400 in 49.87 seconds (just .09 of a second off the record pace of Deering’s Hany Ramadan in 2015).

“I wanted to set records and I did,” Flaker said. “I just stayed focused. I didn’t worry about the other runners. Setting a record in the 200 was the best feeling. Coach (Derek Veilleux) said I could do it, but I had my doubts. When I saw the clock, I was like, ‘Oh my God!’

“I like the mechanics of running and just being fast. I’m very competitive and I don’t like to lose.”

Flaker went on to place third in the 300 (with a new state record time of 34.92 seconds) and seventh in the 55 (6.57) at New Englands, then set one more mark by running the 400 in 49.24 at the national meet.

Flaker will next look to dominate outdoors, then the cycle will begin again next year. Flaker is bound for big things at the college level and he’ll have an abundance of schools interested in his talent when the time comes.

First, however, Jarett Flaker, Scarborough’s Winter Male Athlete of the Year, isn’t done rewriting the Maine record books. By the time he graduates, his marks might just be unreachable.

Coach Derek Veilleux’s comment: “Jarett had an outstanding season going undefeated in the state of Maine in every event. After an outstanding freshman campaign a year ago, he took his running to another level this winter. He was the one we counted on for big points all year long and he produced every time, often in record-breaking fashion.”

Previous winners:

2016-17 Sam Rusak (track)

2015-16 Matt Caron (hockey)

2014-15 Ben Bragg (hockey)

2014-15 Ben Bragg (hockey)

2013-14 Jake Gross (hockey)

2012-13 Jerry Gravel (swimming)

2011-12 Alec James (track)

2010-11 Mike Cyr (wrestling)

2009-10 Robby Gravel (swimming)

2008-09 Brad Nakanishi (track)

2007-08 Chris Hughes (basketball)

2006-07 Brent Mayo (hockey)

2005-06 Doug Endrizzi (swimming)

2004-05 Andrew Rogers (swimming)

2003-04 Mike Walker (basketball)

2002-03 Ryan Colpitts (basketball)

2001-02 Sean Flaherty (swimming)


HANNAH GRIFFIN, Senior-Swimming

* Class A state champion, 200 IM

* All-State, 200 IM

* All-State, 200 free relay

* All-State, 400 free relay

* All-State, All-Academic

* Southwestern Maine all-star, 50 freestyle

* Southwestern Maine all-star, 200 IM

* Southwestern Maine all-star, 200 free relay

* Southwestern Maine all-star, 400 free relay

* SMAA All-Academic

* Team MVP

Griffin returned to high school swimming this winter and produced a senior campaign to remember, capped by an improbable state title.

Griffin started swimming at the age of eight and after coming in fourth at the Class A state meet the 500 free and seventh in the 100 backstroke as a freshman and placing third in the 100 free and fourth in the 200 free as a sophomore, she took her junior year off from high school swimming and instead focused on her Coastal Maine Aquatics club team.

This winter, Griffin returned to the Red Storm and made quite an impact in her final high school season. Griffin opened the season with wins in the 200 individual medley and 100 backstroke. She later tacked on victories in every other individual event.

At the Class A state meet, Griffin won the IM in 2 minutes, 11.58 seconds and placed runner-up in the 50 free (25.08 seconds), setting new school marks in both events and helping Scarborough to a second-place team finish behind Cony.

“It was a good way to end,” Griffin said. “I’m so happy I came back this year. My goal was to win a state championship. It’s worth it when you see everything pay off. The pool is where I go to clear my mind. I’m competitive and I like to win, so it was very special.”

Griffin also belongs to Scarborough’s Environmental Club, Key Club and National Honor Society. She will attend Colby College next year, her top choice, where she’ll continue to swim.

Hannah Griffin, Scarborough’s Winter Female Athlete of the Year, saved her best for last and was rewarded for her hard work by etching her name in program lore.

Coach Eric French’s comment: “Hannah has been a great asset to the program. She’s a leader in and out of the pool. She has one of the best work ethics I have ever seen. She has been just a pure pleasure to watch swim for Scarborough and grow as a swimmer and young woman. She is the model athlete that all coaches enjoy coaching. She will be very hard to replace. I can’t wait to see what she can accomplish at the college level.”

Previous winners:

2016-17 Sophie Glidden (basketball)

2015-16 Sami Shoebottom (hockey)

2014-15 Sami Shoebottom (hockey)

2013-14 Ashley Briggs (basketball)

2012-13 Devan Kane (hockey)

2011-12 Emily Tolman (track)

2010-11 Emilia Scheemaker (track)

2009-10 Laura Flewelling (swimming)

2008-09 Reegan Brackett (basketball)

2007-08 Nicole Harmon (swimming)

2006-07 Kaitlynn Saldanha (track)

2005-06 Erica Jesseman (track)

2004-05 Jenn Flaherty (swimming)

2003-04 Sarah Mills (hockey)

2002-03 Jenn Flaherty (swimming)

2001-02 Mandi Rapisardi (basketball)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter:@foresports.



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.