Scarborough Red Storm Winter Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

2010-11 Winter Male Athlete of the Year:

MIKE CYR, Senior-Wrestling

* Class A state champion, 215 pounds

* New England qualifier

* SMAA All-Star, first team

Coming off a fall season which saw him play an integral role on the resurgence of the Scarborough football program, Mike Cyr had no trouble coming up with a brilliant encore this winter.

Cyr capped his high school wrestling career with a flourish, winning a state championship, the first in Scarborough history, while proving to be not only one of the best in the state, but in all of New England.

For being so dominant on the mat and devoted to not only his improvement, but that of his teammates, in addition to being a standout in the classroom, Mike Cyr is The Forecaster’s choice for Scarborough’s 2010-11 Winter Male Athlete of the Year.

Cyr, who was also named the Fall Male Athlete of the Year for football, started wrestling in the sixth grade and has been very competitive throughout high school, finishing fourth at last year’s state meet.

This winter, Cyr’s goal was to win it all and went about it in dominating fashion. He moved up in weight class from 189 points to 215 and won every match but one (to a wrestler from Class B power Camden Hills), including placing first at the Noble and Westbrook tournaments.

He capped his run by winning the Class A championship, then was third at New Englands, becoming the first Scarborough wrestler to score at that meet.

Cyr, a member of National Honor Society, will attend Trinity College next year, where he plans to study biology and play football. He may walk-on to the wrestling team.

He’s certainly the greatest wrestler that his school has produced to date. Mike Cyr, Scarborough’s 2010-11 Winter Male Athlete of the Year, has set the bar high for all who follow.

Coach Phil Hamilton’s comment: “Mike’s a terrific kid and he’s been a pleasure to coach. The characteristic that stands out in my mind about Mike is how he took a genuine interest in every one of his teammates. During every practice, while working hard to win himself a state championship, he would take the time to work with a freshman or a first-year kid to help them improve or better understand a technique. Those types of behind-the-scenes contributions are what make Mike such a special kid. What he was able to accomplish this year can be tied back to his work ethic and never giving up on his goals. He had some tough times early on in his career but he always pushed forward, never lost the desire to improve and took it upon himself to use the summer to get an edge. I have no doubt he’ll be able achieve the same success should he decide to wrestle in college.”

2009-10 winner: Robby Gravel (Swimming)

2008-09 winner: Brad Nakanishi (Track)

2007-08 winner: Chris Hughes (Basketball)

2006-07 winner: Brent Mayo (Hockey)

2005-06 winner: Doug Endrizzi (Swimming)

2004-05 winner: Andrew Rogers (Swimming)

2003-04 winner: Mike Walker (Basketball)

2002-03 winner: Ryan Colpitts (Basketball)

2001-02 winner: Sean Flaherty (Swimming)

2010-11 Winter Female Athlete of the Year:

EMILIA SCHEEMAKER, Junior-Indoor track

* Class A state champion, long jump

* Class A state champion, triple jump

* SMAA All-Star, first team, long jump

* SMAA All-Star, first team, triple jump

Scarborough’s girls’ track program has won many championships and produced countless standouts, which means it’s pretty tough for an athlete to become the “best in school history” in a certain event or events.

That said, it’s not hyperbole to suggest that Emilia Scheemaker will graduate as the finest long and triple jumper in Scarborough history. She had a stellar high school career and won Class A titles in both events and helped her team to yet another team championship.

For being so good, so consistent and for being devoted to the team as well as her individual endeavors, Emilia Scheemaker is The Forecaster’s choice for Scarborough’s 2010-11 Winter Female Athlete of the Year.

Scheemaker came to Scarborough in the second grade, started jumping in the fifth grade and later added the hurdles to her repertoire. She spends hours working on her jumping technique, has attended camps in the summer and credits her coaches for her success.

Scheemaker was third in the triple jump and fourth in the long jump as a freshman, was third in the triple and fifth in the long jump as a sophomore and moved up to second in the triple and third in the long jump as a junior.

This year, she had no peer. Scheemaker entered the season hoping to win the two jumps and she fulfilled those hopes, dominating all year. She won the long jump at states with a top jump of 17 feet, 5 inches. She took the triple jump with a top leap of 37-00.50. The Red Storm went on to capture the team title for the seventh straight winter.

At New Englands, Scheemaker came in seventh in the long jump (17-1.25).

Scheemaker now turns her attention to outdoor track. Last year, she finished second in the long jump and third in the triple jump. Her goal this spring is to break 17 feet in the long jump and 37-6 in the triple jump and help her team win states for the fifth time in six seasons.

Scheemaker is a member of National Honors Society, Key Club and plays percussion in the band (of which she’s the president). She’s been a member of Scarborough’s famed Gym Dandies since the third grade.

Scheemaker is still in the college selection process, with schools like Bowdoin and Cornell topping her list. She plans to compete in track.

That means she’ll be making her presence felt and dazzling fans at the next level as well. Emilia Scheemaker, Scarborough’s 2010-11 Winter Female Athlete of the Year, truly was one of the school’s all-time greats.

Coach Ron Kelly’s comment: “Emelia’s the top long jumper/triple jumper in the school’s history. She’s a very dedicated athlete that has worked hard to reach her goals. She’s a solid competitor that takes the championship competition to a higher level, an excellent role model and has volunteered in the summer and winter to work with the younger athletes.“

2009-10 winner: Laura Flewelling (Swimming)

2008-09 winner: Reegan Brackett (Basketball)

2007-08 winner: Nicole Harmon (Swimming)

2006-07 winner: Kaitlynn Saldanha (Indoor track)

2005-06 winner: Erica Jesseman (Indoor track)

2004-05 winner: Jenn Flaherty (Swimming)

2003-04 winner: Sarah Mills (Hockey)

2002-03 winner: Jenn Flaherty (Swimming)

2001-02 winner: Mandi Rapisardi (Basketball)

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.