Scarborough Red Storm Winter Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

2011-12 Winter Male Athlete of the Year:

ALEC JAMES, Junior-Indoor track


* Class A state champion, pole vault

* SMAA all-star, first-team, pole vault

Pole vaulting isn’t for everyone, but James has not only taken to it, but he’s become as good as anyone in the state and he’s only getting better.

James grew up in Scarborough and started vaulting in the eighth grade, having been encouraged by his brother, Orin. He admits he was scared at first, but soon discovered it was fun and it wasn’t long until he was dominant.

James was fourth indoors a year ago and honed his craft at the Slovenski Camp last summer. This winter, he consistently soared higher than the rest.

James vaulted 11 feet, 6 inches to win the league championship title. At states, he took first with a top vault of 12-6, which helped give Scarborough the championship.

James also qualified for states in the hurdles and the 400. He will vault outdoors and also runs cross-country.

James hopes to eventually clear 14 feet. He’s played the cello for 11 years and is a member of Scarborough’s Quidditch Club. He wants to vault in college and is considering his options.

Look for this young man to consider to soar above the rest. James simply keeps raising the bar.

Coach Derek Veilleux’s comment: “Alec was the one athlete we could count on for a win in every meet and he did it every time out in the pole vault. He was a top five scorer for us all season long, scoring valuable points during the regular and postseason. The coaching staff has always seen his potential. He’s a talented athlete in several events. This winter, we saw a positive attitude chance as he was committed to excellence, more focused and prepared.”

2010-11 winner: Mike Cyr (Wrestling)

2009-10 winner: Robby Gravel (Swimming)

2008-09 winner: Brad Nakanishi (Track)

2007-08 winner: Chris Hughes (Basketball)

2006-07 winner: Brent Mayo (Hockey)

2005-06 winner: Doug Endrizzi (Swimming)

2004-05 winner: Andrew Rogers (Swimming)

2003-04 winner: Mike Walker (Basketball)

2002-03 winner: Ryan Colpitts (Basketball)

2001-02 winner: Sean Flaherty (Swimming)

2011-12 Winter Female Athlete of the Year

EMILY TOLMAN, Senior-Indoor track


* State champion

* SMAA all-star, first-team, senior 800

* SMAA all-star, first-team, open 600

* SMAA all-star, second-team, senior 400

* SMAA all-star, third-team, senior long jump

Tolman is a great teammate and is pretty clutch as well, attributes which led to great things for her and the Red Storm this winter.

Tolman grew up in Scarborough and has made her mark as a defender in soccer as well as in indoor and outdoor track. She started competing in track at the age of eight, having been told by a teacher to try it because of her high energy level. That advice served Tolman and the town of Scarborough well. As a junior, Tolman was runner-up in the 800, third in the long jump and was part of a champion 800 relay squad.

This winter, Tolman was hindered in the long jump by an ankle injury she suffered in the soccer state final, but she soon returned to form and came up big in February as the Red Storm continued to rule the SMAA and state.

At the conference meet, Tolman finished first in the open 600, 800 and long jump. At states, where Scarborough came in first for the eighth year in a row, Tolman was second in the long jump and placed third in the 400. She capped her year by coming in fourth in the 600 at New Englands.

Tolman’s sister, Andrea, is also part of the track program. Emily describes their relationship as “very competitive.” Tolman likes to draw, volunteers at Scarborough Terrace, took part in the academic decathlon and is a member of Scarborough’s Quidditch Club. She will attend Colby College next year, where she’ll run and study studio art and psychology.

This young lady has been quite a success on and off the track. That figures to continue at the next level.

Coach Ron Kelly’s comment: “Emily is a very dedicated athlete, respected by the younger athletes, willing to help younger runners. She’s someone I can ask to do whatever is needed by the team. She’s done many different events, works to be the best she can be, encourages her twin sister and has been a big-meet competitor.“

2010-11 winner: Emilia Scheemaker (Indoor track)

2009-10 winner: Laura Flewelling (Swimming)

2008-09 winner: Reegan Brackett (Basketball)

2007-08 winner: Nicole Harmon (Swimming)

2006-07 winner: Kaitlynn Saldanha (Indoor track)

2005-06 winner: Erica Jesseman (Indoor track)

2004-05 winner: Jenn Flaherty (Swimming)

2003-04 winner: Sarah Mills (Hockey)

2002-03 winner: Jenn Flaherty (Swimming)

2001-02 winner: Mandi Rapisardi (Basketball)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.