Scarborough Red Storm Fall Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0


DREW KANE, Junior—Golf

  • SMAA Northern Division all-star, first-team

Kane was brilliant all season and with history and destiny on the line, he was at his best and the Red Storm became champions for the first time.

Kane grew up in Scarborough with hockey his favorite sport and started playing golf at 11. He first made his mark with the Red Storm as a sophomore, earning SMAA second-team honors.

This fall, Kane excelled, breaking the school record in pars (55), birdies (140) and points (19 out of a possible 20). He had a stellar 36.1 scoring average. Kane’s best score was a 34, coming in back-to-back late season matches against Deering and Portland.

Scarborough had long been a top contender in Class A, but hadn’t ascended to the pinnacle. That all changed on Oct. 11, as the Red Storm beat Greely and Falmouth by two strokes to win the title. Kane’s round of 75 led the way.

Kane capped his season a week later at the individual state match, shooting a 75 again to place fourth.

“It was a fun, exciting season,” Kane said. “People didn’t think we’d be that good, but once we beat Falmouth at their course, we knew we had a chance.”

Kane‘s drive comes from within.

“I’m very competitive, more with myself,” Kane said. “I like to win.”

Kane said that he hopes to play in college, but first, he hopes to capture a team and an individual title as a senior.

Don’t bet against him. Drew Kane, Scarborough’s Fall Male Athlete of the Year, has shown he is at his best when the stakes are the highest.

Coach Mike Murphy’s comment: “Drew was the driving force, no pun intended, of our success. He had a dream season. He only had three double bogies all year. He was the catalyst for this team. He wasn’t afraid to succeed, which in my opinion, is one of the signs of a winner.

Prior winners:

2013: Ben Greenberg (Football)

2012: Dillon Russo (Football)

2011: Nick Morris (Cross country)

2010: Mike Cyr (Football)

2009: Trevor Hoxsie (Soccer)

2008: Ian Philbrick (Soccer)

2007: Nate Gove (Soccer)

2006: Jack Snyder (Golf)

2005: Derek Poulin (Soccer)

2004: Brad Carlson (Soccer)

2003: Tim Waterhouse (Cross country)

2002: Travis Hitchcock (Football)

2001: Nial DeMena (Football)


KRISTEN MURRAY, Senior -Field hockey

  • All-State

  • Academic All-State

  • SMAA All-Academic team

Murray got to live out every athlete’s dream on the early afternoon of Nov. 1. After scoring several key goals this season, she scored the biggest of her life and it allowed the Red Storm to complete their championship journey.

That Murray was the player in the right place at the right time that day was no surprise. She had been building toward that moment for years.

Murray grew up in Scarborough playing soccer and ice hockey. She made the transition to field hockey in middle school and was a natural.

“I liked it right away,” Murray said.

She was on the Scarborough junior varsity her freshman season, but was pulled up to varsity for the playoffs. As a sophomore, she was part of a squad that made it to the state game, losing to Skowhegan. Murray’s junior season saw the Red Storm fall again to Skowhegan at states, but she scored the team’s lone goal.

This fall, it was championship or bust for the program, especially for the seniors, and Murray ensured there would be a happy ending.

She would score 17 goals, many of them coming in key games, and assisted on four other goals. Murray scored once in a season opening win over highly touted Marshwood, had the winning goal at Massabesic, scored four times in a romp over Noble, rattled the cage three times versus Portland, had two goals against Westbrook and scored twice more against Biddeford.

That was a mere appetizer for the playoffs.

After being held scoreless in a quarterfinal round win over Biddeford, Murray scored the clincher in a semifinal round victory over Thornton Academy. Then, in the regional final, she twice redirected blasts from Maddy Dobecki for goals. Then, after nearly 58 scoreless minutes in the state final, Murray scored the goal heard around Scarborough to slay Skowhegan.

“It was everything I dreamed of and more,” Murray said. “You picture it your whole life. It took so much hard work. It was great to end my season and career on such a high note.”

Murray has never shied away from a challenge and that helped her become a champion.

“I lived in a neighborhood with boys and played against them in the street,” Murray said. “I’m really competitive and I really like to win. That drives me to be my best in everything.”

Murray is now playing defense for a girls’ hockey squad which is seeking a repeat state title. She’s a member of National Honor Society, is her class treasurer and is the senior class’ representative to the school board. She plans to study nursing in college, probably at a big school, and doesn’t expect to play sports at the next level.

That means her final field hockey memory will be one that nobody will ever forget. Kristen Murray, Scarborough’s Fall Female Athlete of the Year, wrote a final act that was every bit as much fantasy as reality.

Coach Kerry Mariello’s comment: “Kristen is a superb field hockey talent and has the brains attached to that, which makes her extremely difficult to stop. She’s an ideal leader, role model and go-to person. Her special quality is to thrive in the big moments and big situations and having the ability to finish in dramatic fashion. She adopted the nickname, ‘Queen Clutch’ for obvious reasons.”

Prior winners:

2013: Abby Mills (Volleyball)

2012: Sarah Martens (Soccer)

2011: Brittany Bona (Volleyball)

2010: Cortney Hughes (Soccer)

2009: Brittany Ross (Field hockey)

2008: Brittany Ross (Field hockey)

2007: Sarah Bonenfant (Field hockey)

2006: Erica Jesseman (Cross country)

2005: Liz Houle (Soccer)

2004: Caitlin Albert (Field hockey)

2003: Zaria Udeh (Soccer)

2002: Caitlin Neelon (Field hockey)

2001: Maureen McHugh (Soccer)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements





Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.