Primary elections uncontested throughout Mid-Coast

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

BRUNSWICK — There are no contested primaries for either the state House or Senate in the Mid-Coast.

The deadline for party candidates to file nomination papers with the Office of the Secretary of State for the June primaries was March 15. Unaffiliated candidates have until June 1 to file.

Sen. Eloise Vitelli, D-Arrowsic, is seeking a third term in Senate District 23, which spans Sagadahoc County and the town of Dresden in Lincoln County. Republican Susan Wasserrott of Woolwich is the sole candidate on the GOP ballot.

Sen. Everett “Brownie” Carson, D-Harpswell, is seeking his second term in Senate District 24. On the Republican side, Brunswick resident Diana Garcia is the only candidate for the GOP nomination in the district, which represents Brunswick, Freeport, Harpswell, North Yarmouth and Pownal.

In House District 49, Democratic incumbent Matthea Daughtry of Brunswick is seeking a fourth party nomination. The Republican on the ballot is Michael Stevens of Brunswick, who lost to Daughtry in 2014 and 2016. 

The district represents West Brunswick, including the majority of downtown.

In District 50, Rep. Ralph Tucker, D-Brunswick, is seeking a third nomination, and the Republican candidate is Brunswick resident Michael Lawler.

District 50 covers the majority of East Brunswick, which includes Cook’s Corner and Brunswick Landing.

Rep. Joyce “Jay” McCreight, D-Harpswell, is running for a third term in District 51, spanning Harpswell, West Bath and a portion of Brunswick. 

Another Harpswell resident, Sean Hall, is the only candidate on the Republican ballot.

Democrat Jennifer DeChant of Bath is seeking her fourth term in District 52, and Bill Weidner of Bath is the sole Republican candidate.

In Topsham, District 54 Rep. Denise Tepler, D-Topsham, is seeking a third term, and Topsham resident Leon Brillant is the presumptive Republican nominee.

Polling places

In Brunswick, voting will take place at Brunswick Junior High School, 65 Columbia Ave., from 7 a.m.-8 p.m. Absentee ballots are available until June 7 at 7 p.m.

Voting in Bath will be held at Bath Middle School, 6 Old Brunswick Road; polls open at 8 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Additional information can be found on the city website, 

Absentee ballots for Bath voters be available until June 7; more information is available at the city of Bath website.

In Topsham, voting will be held at the Main Exhibition Hall at the Topsham Fairgrounds from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. More information on absentee ballots is available on Topsham’s website.

Voting for Harpswell residents will take place in three locations from 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

For Mountain Road and Harpswell Neck residents, voting will be at the Elijah Kellogg Church, also known as Fellowship Hall, at 917 Harpswell Neck Road.

Great Islanders can vote at the Cundy’s Harbor Community Building, 837 Cundy’s Harbor Road.

Orrs/Bailey Island residents will be at the old Orrs Island School House, 1594 Harpswell Islands Road.

Absentee ballot information is also available on the town of Harpswell website.

Elizabeth Clemente can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 100 or Follow Elizabeth on Twitter @epclemente.