Portland Sports Roundup

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Eastern A football all-stars named

Several Cheverus, Deering and Portland football players were named to the Eastern A All-Conference team. On offense, Cheverus’ Joe Fitzpatrick (running back), Liam LaFountain (running back) and Dan O’Brion (line), Deering’s Dom Bernard (wide receiver) and Pat Viola (receiver) and Portland’s Jordan Talbot (quarterback), Ryan Ruhlin (tight end), Josh Sullivan (line) and Dominic Dimillo (line) were honored. The defense featured Cheverus’ Frank Curran (line), Zordan Holman (end), Zach Handley (linebacker) and Kenny Drelich (back), Deering’s Jacob Coon (back) and Portland’s Jeremiah Israel-Copeland (line), Joe Esposito (linebacker) and Jordan Talbot (punter). Cheverus’ Holman was named Lineman of the Year and Cheverus’ Fitzpatrick was named Player of the Year. The All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Matt Gedaro, Fritz Gemmer, Zach Handley, Drew Harris, Liam LaFountain, Tom Lawson, Patrick Mourmouras, Nick Noyes and Jacob Schott, Deering’s Jacob Coon, Matt Krusiec and Ryan Rarn and Portland’s Ryan Ruhlin.

Hoop Shoot contest upcoming

Portland Elks Lodge 188 will hold a foul shooting contest Saturday, Dec. 20 at the McAuley gym. Registration is 9 a.m. There will categories for girls and boys in age groups 8-9, 10-11 and 12-13. The winners advance to the district shoot-off. FMI, 773-6426.