Portland School Notebook: May 1

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

National Honor Society welcomes local students

Deering High School and Portland High School held induction ceremonies for students joining the National Honor Society and recognized the contributions of current members.

Portland seniors Gabriella Cardona, Michael Curran, Gabriel Doss, Anna Fisher, Maria Mirijanyan and Rebecca Ruesch were inducted into the Society.

Deering seniors Cecilia Bauer, Valerie Carpentier, Jakob Chandler, Maren Crabill, Kiana DiBiase, Nathan Finberg, Jean-Louis Maccario, Kevin Masse, Mercedes Meyers, Samantha Sivovlos and Lillian Worthly were recognized for their service.

Portland juniors inducted were Kayla Berg, Aidan Bowe, Emily Burton, Andrea Chim, Kaitlyn Christy, Annette Denekas, Ryan Dixon, Eliana Finberg, Paul Foster, Laura Frank, Sarah Gale, Charles Gauvin, Anthony Green, Elizabeth Harris, Madeline Holton, Kate Hull, Cassandra Kennie, Jesse Lupica-Nowlin, Abram Marr, Jacob Morrow-Spitzer, Nilab Nasrat, Abigail O’Brien, Evan Peaco, Owen Pence, Jeremy Ravenelle, Monica Reno, Bridget Ruff, Katharine Shambaugh and Kelly Walsh.

Deering juniors Sudi Abdirahman, Hilal Ahmad, Thoalfakar Alsaady, Jenny Chiem, Kathryn Cleary, Claire Devlin, Colleen Donlan, Zsofia Duarte, Zachery Duperry, Alexis Elowitch, Emma Garcelon, Katherine Heald, Heather Hodson, Molly Kilbride, Amanda Lemoult, Josephine Luka, Benjamin Peterson, Moneypech Prak, Hannah Reidman and Luke Rogers were inducted.

The National Honor Society was established in the 1920s to recognize outstanding high school students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. The organization and its junior affiliate have chapters in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories and Canada.