Portland School Notebook: Aug. 4

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

School Awards

Erin Gainey was inducted into the Golden Key Honour Society at the University of Southern Maine.

Thomas Gainey was inducted into Alpha Epsilon Delta Honor Society at Xavier University.

Andrew Reagan received the Ina G. Bean Award at Saint Joseph’s College for scholarly and faithful pursuit of knowledge, commitment to the nursing profession and compassion for those in need.

Chelsea Johnson, a junior at Connecticut College, was awarded the Chemistry Department Prize in Environmental Chemisty. Johnson, the daughter of Deborah and Arthur Johnson of Portland, graduated from Deering High School in 2007.

Deering High School student Emily Belanger, a CORPS Dancer with the Portland School of Ballet, was presented with the Deering High School Phi Beta Kappa Academic Achievement Award for demonstrating a love of learning in and beyond the classroom.

Kristi M. Kamps was named USM’s 2010 Outstanding Senior at a recent ceremony. Kamps also earned the 2010 Outstanding Communication Scholar by USM’s College of Arts and Sciences.

Colby College students, Alexander A. Boutin, a graduate of Deering High School, and Chelsea M. Stillman, a graduate of Portland High School, were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa this past spring.

Sidebar Elements

At the end of this past school year, 15 students at Riverton Elementary School were each awarded a $100 college scholarship in a college essay contest sponsored by cPort Credit Union. The scholarship winners are third graders Kiin Mohamed, Maryam Hameed, Tameka Williams, Josh Jacob Ying, Gadiid Warsame; fourth graders Camren King, Tatiana Molina, Kason Roeun, Shayla Skinner, Hudson Vaganis; and fifth graders Helen Bellafiore, Cassidy Bigelman, Owen Ganter, Tim Baker, Shalynn Fielder. Pictured here with the children, back row, from left, are cPort Credit Union’s president/CEO Gene Ardito and Dr. James Morse, superintendent of Portland Public Schools.