Portland School Notebook: April 11

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Cheverus High School in the News

The Cheverus Chess Team won the 2011 State High School Chess Championship held recently at the University of Maine in Orono. The winning team, led by Cheverus coach and teacher Dan LaVallee, includes Ethan Bergeron, Cameron Prescott, Zachery Dulac, Patrick Jerome, and Connor Mains. The Cheverus High School Reserve Team also went undefeated at the competition. The Reserve Team members are Payne Ciampi, Spencer Desrochers and Brian Chiozzi.

The Cheverus High School Jazz Choir, Soulstice, earned state Championship honors for Division II at the State Vocal Jazz Festival held recently in Ellsworth. Soulstice, an a cappella jazz vocal group directed by Chris Humphrey, is comprised of Bobbiella Andoh, Jake Boyce, Rae Hawkinson, Paige Lucas, Will Maxwell and Samantha Pion. The Cheverus Jazz Singers earned a third place finish and a Gold Rating at the festival. Members of the Jazz Singers are Erin Bucci, Christian Cilley, Elaine Cilley, Kevin Connelly, Katherine Fitzpatrick, Austin Hayes, Will Maxwell, Hillary Morin, Marina Phillipps, Samantha Pion, Channon Rose, Samantha SaVaun, Sam Scribner and Gabe Terraciano. The Vocal Jazz Ensemble scored a fifth place finish. Members of the Cheverus Vocal Jazz Ensemble are Gwen Bearman, Laura Bither, Molly Cloutier, Elise Coleman, Anthony Connolly, Dan DuDevoir, Peter Dutton, Erin Fitzpatrick, Abby Harrison, Aubrey Haskell, Kaylin Kerina, Ian Lawson, Will Lenk, Emily Manter, Aaron Mendro, Maggie Neidermeyer, Erica Papkee, Allison Saunders, Erin Shellene and Maddie Woods.  Four Cheverus students also earned Musicianship Awards: Gabe Terracciano, voice/violin; Will Lenk, voice/guitar; Jake Boyce, voice. Cheverus also earned an award for Outstanding Rhythm Section for the entire division.

Three members of the Cheverus High School Chamber String Ensemble have been invited to perform as featured soloists at the upcoming Maine Youth Orchestra concert: Samantha Pion, piano; Emma Shapiro, bassoon; and Caroline Summa, violin. The MYO concert will be held on Sunday, May 1, at 3 p.m. at the Yarmouth Performing Arts Center, 286 North Elm St., Yarmouth.  Tickets are $20 per family; $8 for adults; and $4 for students, and may be purchased at the door.

The Cheverus High School jazz combo, Merciless Onslaught, recently won second place in the state Instrumental Jazz Festival held by the Maine Music Educators Association.  The Cheverus jazz combo members are Kevin Connelly, Will Maxwell, Sam Scribner and Gabe Terracciano. Terracciano and Maxwell also received individual awards for their performances.

Gaia Cloutier, a senior at Cheverus, was selected to represent Maine as a National Youth Correspondent to the 2011 Washington Journalism and Media Conference held this summer at George Mason University.

Cheverus High School sent six teams to compete in the Junior Achievement of Maine fifth annual Titan Challenge. The day-long competition required students to run a virtual business where they manage and operate their business with the goal of outperforming competing teams for top profit, sales and market share. Kevin Conley, Pat Jerome and Reid DesRusseaux won first place honors in the upper division and a cash prize of $100 each. Taking first place honors for Cheverus in the lower division were two teams: the team of Han-Gyul Kweon, Joe LaStoria, and Will Lenk, and the team of Britni Mikulanesz, Ethan Bergeron and Ryan Hoffman.  Each team member won a $50 cash prize. The team of Josh Courtois, Ryan Ward and Sam Olore received an honorable mention for making it to the final round.

Sidebar Elements

The Cheverus High School Math Team, pictured here, recently won the Division B State Championship at the 35th annual Maine State Math Meet. Individual awards were presented to the following Math Team members: DaHyung Chung was named the second best freshman; Connor Mains placed fifth among sophomores; Colin Swords placed 14th among seniors; and Deidre Lambert and Jessica Krause tied for 15th place among seniors. Patrick Jerome, Deirdre Lambert, Emily LaVerriere and Jenna Rodrigues were invited to participate in the national math meet.