Portland School Notebook

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Portland students donate
$2,000 to nonprofits

PORTLAND — Jobs for Maine’s Graduates, which includes students from Portland High School and Deering High School, contributed a total of $2,000 to local nonprofits serving youth as part of the Jumpstart Our Youth student philanthropy program.

Portland High School donated $1,000 to Catherine Morrill Day Nursery.

Deering High School donated $1,000 to the Young Adult Abuse Prevention Program of Family Crisis Services.

LiDrazzah awarded
two scholarships

AUGUSTA – The Maine Community College System board of trustees named Lea LiDrazzah of Portland, student at Southern Maine Community College, to the All-Maine Academic Team in recognition of her academic achievements and leadership qualities.

Along with the award, she will receive a $500 scholarship from Camden National Bank.

LiDrazzah was also named a Coca-Cola National Finalist Scholar and will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

Jerome earns statewide
Principal’s Award

PORTLAND — Cheverus senior Michael Jerome, son of Barbara and Christopher Jerome of Falmouth, received the Maine Principals’ Association Principal’s Award.

Jerome was one of five students selected at a recent ceremony honoring students and principals from member schools around the state.

Jerome earned a $1,000 scholarship in addition to the award.

Cheverus Jazz Singers
win state jazz choir title

PORTLAND — The Cheverus High School Jazz Singers won state jazz choir title at the Maine State Vocal Jazz Festival held in Houlton on April 4.

Singers in the group include Emily Bauer of Kennebunk, Paige McGowan of Portland, Paige Lucas of Cumberland, Alexis Garrison of Scarborough, Channon Rose of Kennebunk, Jacob Boyce of Portland, Jessica Halfacre of Cape Elizabeth, Rebecca Ward of Gray, Hannah Brazell of Cape Elizabeth and Elizabeth Cook of Scarborough.

The rhythm section backing up the choir received a special honor by being chosen “Outstanding Rhythm Section” for the division.

The rhythm section includes Will Maxwell of Kennebunk, Mark Dumond of Bowdoinham, Ian Conners of Brunswick, Tim Woods of Portland, Gabe Tarracciano of Portland, and Sam Scribner of Kennebunk.




Sidebar Elements