Portland School Notebook

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Three Maine schools nominated for national distinction

AUGUSTA—The Maine Department of Education nominated three schools to be 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools: Longfellow Elementary School in Portland, Williams-Cone Elementary School in Topsham and Yarmouth Elementary School.

The U.S. Department of Education program honors public and private schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and closed gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

In its 31-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this coveted award on over 7,000 of America’s schools, including nearly 50 in Maine. The commissioner in each state nominates schools, which are then invited by the U.S. Secretary of Education to submit a formal application.

Each of the three nominated schools has student achievement in the top 15 percent in Maine for both reading and math. The federal Department of Education will announce awardees in September 2013.

Portland Children’s Film Festival seeks films by young people

The Portland Children’s Film Festival seeks entries to the Young Filmmakers Contest that will take place in conjunction with the festival on April 4-7, 2013. Parents and staff at East End Community School launched the festival last year and it is a fundraiser for the school.

The filmmakers contest is open to students in kindergarten through high school from Portland and surrounding communities. Students are invited to submit films in any style, with a maximum duration of three minutes.

Winning films and other judges’ picks will be shown at an April 7 pajama party at the Nickelodeon and other big screens during the 2013 festival. Contest rules and entry forms are available at www.portlandchildrensfilmfestival.com.

The theme for this year’s contest is “connections.” Connections could be associations between people, objects, events, ideas or any other kind of connection filmmakers can imagine. Judges will give credit for use of theme, production quality, originality and story-telling. Film submissions must be postmarked by Feb. 25, 2013.  For more information, please email contest@portlandchildrensfilmfestival.com

First Quarter Honor Roll

The following students were named to the honor roll for the first quarter at Catherine McAuley High School:

High Honors: Catherine Call, Taylor Church, Viviane Kosting, Katherine Lake, and Emma Shumadine.
Honors: Allana Agren, Electra Bals, Elise Baribault, Elizabeth Block, Hannah Cain, Mickayla Carney, Alexandra Clement, Sarah Clement, Caitlyn Connolly, Lauren Coulombe, Elsa Curran, Rachael Dalton, Quincy Dean-Slobod, Jennifer Devine, Greta DiPierro, Elizabeth Emerson, Alexis Ewald, Mia Fisher, Danielle Guibord, Brianna Heisler, Laura Holman, Brooke Howard, Monica Hutcherson, Panithida Intharakuna, Michelle Jordan, Sophia Lodish, Lydia MacDonald, Molly Mack, Emily Mazza, Kathryn McBrady, Emily Norman, Kimanna Nguyen,  Kathleen O’Brien, Sun Yool Park, Elizabeth Poulin, Kathleen Profenno, Maria Ramsay, Devri Ramsey,  Emily Rogan, Olivia Smith, Alexandria Strawn, Rachel Taylor, Isabel Terracciano, Audrey Thames, Sophia Warren, and Jaclyn Welch.
Commendable: Irene Baldenweck, Hayley Holzhacker, and Sophia Krieckhaus.

Students nominated to service academies

The following students have been nominated for admittance to military service academies:

Cheverus High School: Spencer Amberson and Jackson McMann.

Portland High School: Patrick Robinson.