Portland repeats as middle school football champion

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Portland’s Middle School football team celebrates its 48-30 win over Scarborough in Sunday’s Southern Maine Youth Football League championship game for 7th and 8th graders. Portland repeated as champion and posted a 10-0 record. Quarterback Ben Trefethen threw for 151 yards and two touchdowns and ran for 60 yards and three more scores. Running back Zachary Elowitch had 11 carries for 103 yards and a TD. Running back Ben Stasium carried 10 times for 70 yards and a touchdown and had 131 yards and a TD receiving. Running back Jason Montano added 68 yards on 10 carries and tight end Ben Onek had 20 receiving yards and a TD.

Portland’s team included Nicholas Bart, Griffin Buckley, Patrick Buxton, Gavin Chambers, Noah Chason, Cameron Clifford, Anthony Colello, Cameron Connolly, Darrian Darling, Wenston Dinizio, Colt Dumond, Zachary Elowitch. Kekoa Farnsworth, Trejyn Fletcher, Ethan Haapala, Luke Hill, Ty Jordan, Sam Knop, Nico Leavitt, Ben Levine, Cameron Lopez, Jacob Loranger, Cillo Magno, Josiah Melanson, Jason Montano, Ben Onek, Michael Randall, Travis Soule, Ben Stasium, Ben Trefethen, Chris Vincentand Ronaldo Wakati.

Portland was coached by Vinnie Salamone, Nick Cliche, Ernie Salamone, John Hill, Mike Cowie and Ben Sawyer.