Portland inauguation ceremonies slated for Dec. 6

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

PORTLAND — Newly elected city councilors and School Committee members will be sworn in at City Hall on Monday, Dec. 6.

Councilors will take the oath of office at noon and School Committee members will be sworn in at 4 p.m.

Mayor Nicholas Mavadones, an at-large councilor since 1997 and three-time mayor, will be sworn in as the last council-appointed mayor before the city moves to popular election of its mayor.

After being inaugurated, Mavadones will outline his priorities for his second consecutive term as mayor.

Councilor Jill Duson will be sworn in for her fourth term and Councilor John Anton will return for his second term. Former Councilor Ed Suslovic will also make his return to the council.

School Committee member Kate Snyder, beginning her second term, will be sworn in as the new board chairwoman.

Committee member Jaimey Caron will also return for a second term and will lead the Finance Subcommittee. Laurie Davis will be sworn into her first term on the committee.