Portland, Falmouth teachers finalists for Teacher of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

AUGUSTA — Elementary school teachers in Portland and Falmouth are still in the running for the 2010 Teacher of the Year award.

The finalist for the award from the Maine Department of Education are Jayne Quinn Sawtelle, a kindergarten through fifth-grade music teacher at Fred P. Hall Elementary School in Portland, Kevin Grover, a second-grade teacher at D.W. Lunt School in Falmouth, and William Thompson, a high school physics teacher at Piscataquis Community High School in Guilford.

The three finalists were selected from a field of six semifinalists by a panel of past award winners, principals, DOE staff, state Board of Education members and business people. The selection process included school visits, a professional portfolio review and an oral presentation. 

The trio will have final interviews before a winner is chosen. The winner will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.