Portland autumn all-stars in abundance

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Cheverus, Deering, McAuley, Portland and Waynflete all enjoyed memorable moments during the fall sports season. Each school also had their share of standouts named to all-star teams. Here’s a look at who was honored in soccer, field hockey, cross country and golf (the football list will come out at a later date):

Boys’ soccer

The Southern Maine Activities Association’s boys’ soccer first team included four players from the city. Cheverus senior forward Thomas Mourmouras, Deering junior midfielder Charlie Dupee and Portland senior back Andrew Capelluti and junior midfielder Fazal Nabi were selected.

The second team included Deering senior back Sam Coyne and Portland senior forward A.J. Hasanovic and sophomore back Ben Day.

Deering junior back Isaac Wipfler was an honorable mention.

The SMAA All-Academic squad included Cheverus’ Tyler Bouchard, Donald Foshay, Max Miller, Mourmouras, Ian O’Malley and Thomas Yates and Portland’s Zahid Abid, Capelluti and Jason Knight.

Portland’s Nabi shared Offensive Player of the Year honors with Scarborough’s Trevor Hoxsie.

In the Western Maine Conference, Waynflete seniors Sam Cleaves, Chris Gillespie, Daniel Mitchell and junior Tucker Geoffroy made the Class C first team.

Cleaves also qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Cheverus’ Mourmouras, Deering’s Dupee, Portland’s Nabi and Waynflete’s Cleaves, Gillespie and Geoffroy were named to the regional all-star team.

Girls’ soccer

On the girls’ side, the SMAA first team included Cheverus senior back Ashley Giddinge.

Cheverus Deering sophomore forward Alexis Sivlovos, McAuley freshman goalkeeper Molly Miller and Portland senior back Sydney Findlay and senior forward Sophia Nappi made the second team.

Cheverus senior midfielder Amanda Royer was an honorable mention selection.

The All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Grace Fitzpatrick, Giddinge, Alexandra Kane and Alicia Risigo and Portland’s Marianne Anderson, Marie Genova and Lauren MacDougal. McAuley’s Mary Scully was named Student-Athlete of the Year.

In the WMC, Waynflete seniors Julia Pope, Sasha Timpson and Morgan Woodhouse and juniors Izzer Berrang and Elena Britos made the Class C first team.

Caitlin Britos, Bethany Campbell and Timpson qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Portland’s Nappi made the regional all-star team.

Field hockey

Three local field hockey players made the SMAA first team in field hockey. Cheverus senior Maggie Grindatti and junior Emily Sawchuck, along with McAuley’s Sara Mercier were honored.

The second team included Cheverus senior Theresa Hendrix, Deering seniors Ursula Donovan and Jami LeRoy and Portland’s Corey Carmichael.

Cheverus’s Sarah LaQuerre, Deering’s Monique Guimond, McAuley’s Jamie LaCasse and Portland’s Maura O’Connor were honorable mention selections.

In the WMC, Waynflete’s Lindsey Sinicki made the District 2 first team. Emily Guffin and Lindsey MacLeod were named to the District 2 second team.

Cross country

On the trails, Cheverus and Waynflete won state titles in 2009 and had players honored for their performance. The SMAA boys’ first team featured Cheverus’ Taylor Dundas, Andrew Snyder and Jack Terwilliger. Cheverus’ Tim Woods qualified for the second team. Portland’s Cole Hutchison was an honorable mention.

Cheverus’ Bruce Bickford was chosen Coach of the Year.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Max Bulger, Dundas, Eric Martin, Snyder and Woods, Deering’s Wil Curley and Portland’s Hutchison, Simon Thompson and Tim Weber.

On the girls’ side, the SMAA first team included Cheverus’ Emily Durgin, Fiona Hendry and Liana Rubinoff. Cheverus’s Amelia Lundkvist qualified for the second team. Deering’s Ella Ramonas and McAuley’s Lauren Fecteau were honorable mentions.

Cheverus’ Valerie Guillet was named Coach of the Year.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Kellie Keneagy, Lundkvist, Peter and Rubinoff, Deering’s Lindsay Dearborn, Azaria Galli, Kaela Holmes, Rachel Merrill, Julie Pallozzi, Sarah Savage and Dali Tauwala, McAuley’s Margaret Cruz and Fecteau and Portland’s Melanie Peabody.

In the WMC, Waynflete’s Amy Allen and Martha Veroneau made the first team.

Allen and Grace High qualified as Senior Scholar-Athletes.


The SMAA north division golf first team featured Cheverus’ Kyle Bourassa and D.J. Honan and Deering’s Jake Nichols, Rocco Spizuoco and Joe Walp. Deering’s Ryan Bourgault, Cooper Nadeau and Ben Rodick, along with Portland’s Rudy DiMillo made the second team.

The SMAA All-Academic squad included Cheverus’ Kyle Randall, Deering’s Nichols and Portland’s William Dismore.

Congratulations to all of Portland’s finest athletes for another fall to remember!

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net

P-sportsallstars2-112509.jpgDeering senior Ursula Donovan earned all-star status this season.

Sidebar Elements

P-sportsallstars1-112509.jpgPortland sophomore sophomore Ben Day made the SMAA boys’ soccer all-star team this fall.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.