Pierce, Orestis elected to Falmouth Town Council; Larson, Tucker, Andrews win School Board seats

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

FALMOUTH — In an election that brought more than 42 percent of registered voters to the polls, residents elected an incumbent and a political newcomer to two Town Council seats Tuesday.

Current council Vice Chairwoman Teresa Pierce was re-elected to the council for a second term, with 1,778 votes.

“I’m very honored and excited to be back for the next three years,” Pierce said. “It was an exciting race. And thanks to everyone for their support.”

She will be joined by business owner Chris Orestis, who was elected with 1,953 votes.

“I’m really pleased voters responded to the positive message and optimistic outlook we discussed in our campaign,” Orestis said. “I’m looking forward to working with all sides to achieve what’s best for the town.”

Patricia Kirby and Jonathan Berry were defeated; they received 1,555 votes and 1,043 votes, respectively.

Voters also elected one incumbent and two new members to the School Board.

Analiese Larson, the current chairwoman of the Finance Committee, was re-elected with 2,035 votes.

“I’m humbled,” said Larson, who received the highest number of votes. “I’m deeply appreciative to continue to be able to drive to get the best results for the children of Falmouth. The voters have spoken.”

Lucy Tucker and Jan Andrews were also elected, with 1,866 and 1,303 votes, respectively.

“I’m very excited,” Tucker said. “This has been an interesting experience. I’m really excited to get down to business and excited to be there for Falmouth in a new way.”

Eydie Pryzant was only four votes shy of a tie with Andrews, receiving 1,299 votes. Karyl Hazard received 1,195 votes.

Michael Doyle, a frequent and outspoken critic of the School Board, was not elected after receiving 909 votes.

“Win or lose, it was a great experience,” Doyle said. “My deep appreciation to all my supporters, both voters and financially.”

Andrews could not be reached for comment Tuesday night.

William Lunt III, incumbent for the Portland Water District Board of Trustees representing Falmouth and Cumberland, ran uncontested and received 1,148 votes.

Emily Parkhurst can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 125 or eparkhurst@theforecaster.net. Follow her on Twitter: @emilyparkhurst.

Sidebar Elements