People and Business: Sept. 21

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Awards and Recognitions

The American Cancer Society’s New England Division recognized five outstanding Society volunteers by presenting them with the Sandra C. Labaree Volunteer Values Awards, named in honor of the late Sandra C. Labaree, a longtime American Cancer Society volunteer from Damariscotta and a founding member of the New England Division Board of Directors. The awards recognize and honor New England volunteers whose actions and service in the fight against cancer most exemplify the Society’s organizational values. Local recipients include Tess Hakkila of Portland and Holly Pye of Bath for going above and beyond the call of duty in service to cancer patients.

Bernstein Shur attorney and shareholder Linda McGill of Freeport was named Volunteer of the Decade by the International Senior Lawyers Project. McGill, who has served as a volunteer with ISLP for the past eight years, is among five attorneys selected for the honor. McGill has traveled to New Delhi, India to work with the country’s Human Rights Law Network on a wide range of human-rights issues, including violations of defendants’ rights, workplace sexual harassment, environmental justice, and discrimination.

North Yarmouth resident Bradley R. Smith, Leavitt Area High School assistant principal, has been selected to receive The New England Preparatory School Athletic Council’s Distinguished Service Award for 2012. The award is given annually to an individual who has “contributed significantly to New England Independent School Athletics and Physical Education through enthusiasm, dedication, leadership and vision.”  

Howard M. Solomon of Bowdoinham received the 2011 Sampson Center for Diversity in Maine Catalyst for Change Award. The Sampson Center Catalyst for Change Award acknowledges an individual who has been at the forefront of change regarding diversity, equality, and human and civil rights in Maine.

Kennebec Behavioral Health honored several area health-care leaders at the agency’s annual meeting, including State Rep. David C. Webster of Freeport for his longstanding work for supporting quality mental health-care legislation at the state level. Webster is a founding member and past president of Community Support Services Inc., now named Community Partners Inc., a southern Maine agency that serves adults with developmental disabilities.

The United Way of Greater Portland Foundation hosted its 2011 Legacy Event to recognize and give thanks to individuals whose leadership and contributions have added to the success of the Foundation. Judith M. Coburn, counsel in the Private Clients and Fiduciary Group at Verrill Dana LLP, was this year’s recipient of the Meg Baxter Legacy Award. Notably, Coburn served on the Foundation’s Board of Trustees from 1997-2007, with two years as chairwoman, and has been instrumental in the success of the Foundation.

Ali Vander Zanden and Genevieve Lysen were awarded with this year’s Maine Democratic Party Partner in Pride Award at the third annual Maine Dems Have Pride Brunch. The award is given annually to a person or couple who have worked hard to further the cause of equality in Maine. Vander Zanden and Lysen were recognized for their advocacy work as organizers for EqualityMaine and the Maine People’s Alliance.

The Maine Downtown Center presented an Outstanding Special or Retail Event award to the Portland Downtown District and Portland Buy Local for its collaboration on the Downtown Worker Appreciation Day event. Downtown Worker Appreciation Day served as a celebration of those who choose to work in downtown Portland and also served as an opportunity for Portland’s local businesses to connect with and recognize its workers.

Bowdoin College
was selected to receive the Council for Advancement and Support of Education, CASE, 2011 Educational Fundraising Award for overall performance. Bowdoin was one of 24 institutions of higher education across the country to receive this annual award recognizing exemplary advancement initiatives and performance.

The College of Labor and Employment Lawyers has named Daniel J. Rose of Drummond Woodsum law firm as a newly-elected Fellow in recognition of sustained outstanding performance in his profession. Rose, co-chair of of Drummond Woodsum’s Labor and Employment Group, is one of eight attorneys from Maine, including Harry Pringle, Drummond Woodsum’s Managing Director, to be inducted as a Fellow into the College.
The Portland Water District recently was awarded the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award from the Government Finance Officers Association.

Portland-based construction firm, Wright-Ryan Construction, has been awarded the 2011 Maine Preservation Honor Award for Excellence in Rehabilitation for the restoration work it completed at the Mill at Saco Falls in Biddeford. Wright-Ryan renovated the historic mill building into mixed income housing while preserving historic features and modernizing for energy efficiency and usefulness.

Sidebar Elements