People and Business: Oct. 5

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0


Cheverus High School has elected four new members to its Board of Trustees. New trustees are Deanna Harnett, senior vice president, Council on International Educational Exchange; Christopher J. Jerome, senior vice president of Unum’s Risk Operations; Anthony M. “Tony” Payne, business development director for Clark Insurance, and chairman of Falmouth Town Council; and James “Jim” Raftice, president and chief operations officer of PowerPay.

United Way of Greater Portland has named the members of its 2011 Campaign Cabinet for its annual fundraising campaign. Shawn Gorman, vice president, Card Services at L.L.Bean will lead this year’s Campaign Cabinet as chairman and Sterling Kozlowski, president of KeyBank will serve as vice chairman, along with 13 other Campaign Cabinet members: Shelley Bartlett, director of Card Services, L.L.Bean; Sam Beal, executive director, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southern Maine; Cheryl Brandt, senior vice president, Gorham Savings Bank; Erin Ehrlenbach Collins, vice president and trust officer, Androscoggin Trust & Investment Services; Andrew Dolloff, superintendent, Kennebunk Schools; Sean Dugan, director of Special Projects, MaineHealth; Tom Hall, town manager, Town of Scarborough; James Kachmar, financial representitive, Guardian Life Insurance; Anne Lynch, executive director, The Center for Grieving Children; Nathan Poore, town manager, Town of Falmouth; Douglas Richard, store manager, Maine Mall, Hannaford Brothers Co.; Lisa K. Toner, vice president of Legal Affairs, Delhaize America LLC; and Mike Watson, principal, TMWatson Associates LLC.

Marge Barker of Portland has been elected president of the South Portland/Cape Elizabeth Rotary Club for the 2011-2012 year, succeeding John Lobosco. Barker is a vice president with TD Bank where she has worked for over 24 years. Serving on the incoming Board with Barker are President-Elect Bob Flynn, Vice President Chuck Redman, Secretary Paul Butler, Treasurer Nancy Hawes, Club Administration Kathy Cotter, Community Service Director Sybil Riemensnider, Member Ellie Speh, and International Director David Lourie.

At the Portland Museum of Art’s annual meeting the following new members were elected to the 2011–2012 Board of Trustees: Melanie Stewart Cutler, John P. Moore, and William B. Williams. Rosalyne S. Bernstein and Peggy L. Osher were named honorary trustees. Elected officers of the Board are John F. Isacke, president; Hans Underdahl, chairman; Anna H. Wells, vice president; Dr. Walter B. Goldfarb and Christopher N. Robinson, vice presidents at large; Robert S. Nanovic, treasurer; William J. Ryan Jr., assistant treasurer; and James A. Houle, secretary.

Natalie Burns of Cape Elizabeth, partner/director at the law firm of Jensen Baird Gardner & Henry, has been elected to serve as the president/chairwoman of the Girl Scouts of Maine Board of Directors.

The Maine Real Estate & Development Association, MEREDA, board of directors elected the following officers for the 2011/2012 fiscal year: Thomas N. Lea of People’s United Bank, president; Anne Littlefield of Dead River Properties, and Drew Sigfridson of CB Richard Ellis / The Boulos Company, vice president; William Shanahan of Northern New England Housing Investment Fund, treasurer; James C. Otis of Otis | Atwell, assistant treasurer; and Dennis C. Keeler of Pierce Atwood LLP, secretary/registered agent. Newly elected MEREDA board members are Brian M. Curley of PDT Architects, Christian T. Chandler of Curtis Thaxter, and Peter Dufour of Macdonald Page & Co. LLC.

The Maine Philanthropy Center has recently elected three new board members: Frank Douglass of Wright Express Corporation, Janet Wyper of L.L.Bean and Peter Taylor of Maine Community Foundation. New officers of the board are Martha E. Greene of John T. Gorman Foundation, chairwoman; Barbara Leonard of Maine Health Access Foundation, vice chairwoman; John Kuropchak of United Way of Eastern Maine, secretary; and Linda Roberts of BerryDunn, treasurer.

The Appalachian Trail Conservancy has elected Drummond Woodsum attorney Bill Plouffe of Freeport as vice-chairman of its board of directors.

Eileen Epstein of Falmouth, partner at Epstein & O’Donovan LLP, has been elected chairwoman of the board of directors of the Maine Community Foundation. Epstein succeeds outgoing chairwoman Anne Jackson, who will remain on the board. George Shaw of Newcastle is the new board vice-chairman.

Jack Carr of Biddeford was recently elected president of the Rotary Club of Portland. Carr is a senior vice president of Criterium Engineers of Portland.

The Cancer Community Center in South Portland has elected five new members to its Board of Trustees. New members are Corrine Bongiovanni, LCSW; Sarah Coburn of Verrill Dana LLP; Kim Donnelly of Gorham Savings Bank; Cheryl Greaney of Unum; Karen Morgan of Southern Laughing Company; and Kierston Van Soest of L.L.Bean.

The Portland Symphony Orchestra has recently welcomed five new members to its Board of Trustees. New trustees, elected to three-year terms, are Sally Bancroft of Cumberland, Jan Gerry of South Freeport, Matthew O’Reilly of Falmouth, Alicia Sampson of Portland, and Margaret Wilkis of South Portland. Debby Hammond of Cumberland Foreside has been elected president of the Board.

Portland’s Downtown District has elected the following new officers: Doug Fuss, owner of Bull Feeney’s, president; Nicholas Morrill of Jensen, Baird & Gardner, vice-president; Catherine Lamson, vice-president of MEMIC, treasurer. Newly elected to the Board serving 3-year terms are: Josh Benthien, Northlands LLC; Alan Labos, Akari; and June Usher, Bangor Savings Bank.

Sidebar Elements

Former Cumberland County YMCA Board Chairman Cyrus Hagge issued a matching dollar-for-dollar challenge to the Board of the Cumberland County YMCA to raise $30,000 for this year’s annual campaign. The goal was reached and Hagge and his wife presented a $30,000 check to the nonprofit at the YMCA Appreciation Night for staff and volunteers held at a recent Portland Sea Dogs game. Pictured here, from left, are Patty Hagge, Cyrus Hagge, Cumberland County YMCA CEO Helen Brena, YMCA member Cynthia Krouse, and Sea Dog’s mascot, “Slugger.”