People and Business: Nov. 10

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Yarmouth program awarded
grant to fight childhood obesity

YARMOUTH — FitforME!, an innovative program designed by Bayview Pediatrics and Riverview Physical Therapy in Yarmouth to treat childhood and adolescent obesity, recently received a $1,200 grant from the Physician Assistant Foundation.

Participation in the FitforME! program is initiated by a referral from a child’s pediatrician. An individualized treatment plan, which includes a nutritional, educational and physical fitness component, is designed by a physician or physician assistant from Bayview Pediatrics, and a physical therapist and athletic trainer from Riverview Physical Therapy.

“The advantages to our program are the collaborative approach and direct line of communication with the child’s pediatrician,” said Matt Douglas, clinic director at Riverview Physical Therapy. “Also, we perform a complete orthopedic assessment, including screenings for joint mobility, flexibilty, and strength to assess the child’s physical condition and ensure safety,” he added.

Twelve children so far have completed the FitforME! program, which lasts approximately six to 12 weeks, and includes up to three visits per week. The cost to participate in the program is the same as a regular physical therapy visit, reimbursable through insurance.

FitforME! is one of the first programs in Maine to receive a grant for this type of work. A portion of the grant will be used to purchase innovative equipment for kids in the program.

“One of our goals is to make this fun for the kids and not feel like a structured exercise regime,” said Douglas. “We’ve gotten positive feedback from parents and children who have gone through the program.”

The grant will also be used to help with insurance co-pay assistance when needed.

Currently, FitforME! is accepting referrals for the program. For more information, please contact Matt Douglas/Riverview Physical Therapy at 846-8725.


Longtime journalist Jay Davis of Belfast has been elected the first president of the Maine Center for Public Interest Reporting. The focus of the Hallowell-based center is to research, write and distribute news stories on the actions of state, local and federal governments and candidates for public of?ce. Stories are distributed by the Center’s media partners, which include The Forecaster Newspapers and The Sun Journal. For more information, please visit

The Modular Home Builders Association of Maine recently held their annual meeting and elected officers, including MHBA president, Nick Sherman, of Hallmark Homes in Topsham. Ena Derenburger, of Turn Key Homes in Oxford, was elected vice-president, and Ron Gray, of Coastline Homes in Ellsworth and Hollis, was elected secretary/treasurer.

Thomas Lea of Cumberland, Senior Vice President and Group Manager of Commercial Real Estate at Maine Bank and Trust, was elected the president of the Maine Real Estate & Development Association, MEREDA. Additionally, Kimberly J. Twitchell of Cumberland Center, Commercial Relationship Manager of the Commercial Real Estate group at TD Bank, was recently elected as a member of the board.

At the 117th Annual Meeting of the Maine Association of Community Banks, the member banks elected president of Bangor Savings Bank, James J. Conlon, as association chairman for the next year. Other elected officers are Peter L. Judkins, president of Franklin Savings Bank, association vice chairman, and Mark T. Mickeriz, president of Sanford Institution for Savings, immediate past chairman. The following individuals were named to the executive committee: Christopher W. Emmons, president of Gorham Savings Bank; Betsey Timm Greenstein, president of Bank of America-Maine; Earle F. Harvey, president of Border Trust; Joseph M. Murphy, president of Bar Harbor Bank & Trust; Jon J. Prescott, president of Katahdin Trust Company; Richard J. Vail, president of Mechanics Savings Bank; John C. Witherspoon, president of Skowhegan Savings Bank; and Lawrence A. Wold, Maine president of TD Bank. The board also voted to change the name of the organization to the Maine Bankers Association, effective immediately.

The Junior League of Portland has elected a new president and board of directors. Ruth Summers was named president. Board members for 2010-2011 are Elliott Pitts, President-Elect; Jennifer Wanda, Treasurer; Kim Koehler, Recording Secretary; Charlotte Gregorie, Vice President of Community; Denise Morrison, Vice President of Fund Development; Deirdre Banks, Vice President of Membership; Lynn Weisz, Vice President of Nominating/Mentoring; Melissa Duffy, Vice President of Public Relations. Terri Decoster-Grasso and Vicky Kennedy were named Sustaining Member Co-Chairs.

Portland’s Downtown District has named the following officers for 2010-2011: Brian Petrovek, President/CEO of Portland Pirates, President; Tamara Gilliam, General Manager of Eastland Park Hotel, Vice-President; Doug Fuss, Owner of Bull Feeney’s, Treasurer. Newly elected to serve a three-year term on the PDD board of directors are Catherine Lamson of MEMIC, Peter Gellerson of Lathrop Property Management Services, and Nicholas Morrill, Esq. of Jensen, Baird, and Henry.

The University of New England in Biddeford and Portland have elected officers of its Board of Trustees for the upcoming year, effective through May 2011. They are Michael Morel of Biddeford, Chair; Mark Doiron of Scarborough, Vice Chair; and Sandra Goolden of Yarmouth, Secretary/Treasurer.

The Southern Maine Community College Foundation Board has elected new officers. Tim Walton, Director of External Affairs at Cianbro, will serve as the Chair. Ralph Good, Financial Advisor at Wells Fargo Advisors, will serve as Vice Chair, and Sean O’Hare, Principal of O’Hare Associates, will serve as Treasurer. Stewart Welch, President & CEO of Chadwick-Baross and David Cook, President of Allied-Cook Construction, have recently joined the Foundation Board.

The Maine Cancer Foundation has named five new members to its Board of Directors and elected its officers for the 2010-2011 year. New board members are Jim Clair of Goold Health Systems; Barbara Grillo of Maine Medical Center Cancer Institute; Jennifer Dumas of AstraZeneca; Peter Rinck of Rinck Advertising; and Stuart Lyons of Baker Newman and Noyes. Gene Libby was named President, Cheryl Greaney was named Vice-President and Stuart Lyons was elected Treasurer.

Sidebar Elements

The Boys & Girls Clubs of Southern Maine recently held a grand opening for their newest Clubhouse located at the Sagamore Village public housing development. The Portland Housing Authority and City of Portland’s Housing & Community Development program collaborated to open the new 1,700 square foot Clubhouse to provide after-school and summer educational and recreational programs to area youth ages 5-13 years old. The Clubhouse is located at 21 Popham St. in Portland. Pictured here at the ribbon cutting, from left, are Club member Jhon, Portland Mayor Nick Mavodones, Clifford Ginn, PHA Chair of Commissioners, John Ryan, BGCSM Board Chair, Tiffanie Panagakos, Club Director, and club members Donna and Estella. New youth memberships are now being accepted. For more information, please call 797-9048 or visit