People and Business: July 7

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Local companies awarded
technology grants

GARDINER — The Maine Technology Institute Board of Directors recently approved four MTI Development Awards totalling nearly $1.1 million to local companies for technology innovation projects.

The Round 26 Development Award recipients are Claim Vantage, Inc., of Portland, CLYNK of Portland, CashStar, Inc., of Portland and the University of Maine, Orono.

Claim Vantage, a claims management system, will use its MTI Development Award for implementing a new software model in four lines of its business. The company was awarded $395,570 from MTI with an equal  match of $395,570.

CLYNK, a bottle and can redemption service with operations at 24 Hannaford locations, was awarded $500,000, with a match of $585,725 to expand into 17 new Hannaford locations throughout Maine.

CashStar, Inc., an interactive gifting and incentives company with digital gift card management was awarded $87,887, with an equal match of $87,887 to develop mobile applications for Blackberry, iPhone and Droid users.

University of Maine, Orono, in collaboration with Green Comfort Safe and Zeomatrix companies, received an award in the amount of  $99,780, with a match of $105,280 for the development and commercialization of an energy-efficient cellulose insulation product for residential and commercial buildings.

MTI’s Development Awards are given to companies and projects that advance Maine’s economy through technology innovations. Each MTI award requires a minimum 1:1 matching investment of money, staff time, equipment and in-kind contributions.

The application deadline for the next round of awards is Nov. 5, 2010. For more information, please visit

Preble Street presents
community awards

PORTLAND — At the annual meeting of the Preble Street organization, community service awards were presented and outgoing board members’ contributions were recognized.

Avesta Housing was presented with the Community Partner Award and Deb Keller, development director of Avesta Housing, was presented with the Joseph D. Kreisler Community Impact Award.

The nonprofit was recognized for partnering with Preble Street to respond to the needs of homelessness with affordable housing. Keller was personally honored for her commitment to human dignity and social justice.

The Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Pat Buckley of Portland, a longtime volunteer at the Preble Street Breakfast Soup Kitchen.

Elaine Rosen was recognized as Board Member of the Year for her leadership and commitment to Preble Street’s mission during her three-year tenure as board president. The Honorable Peter Darvin and Susannah Swihart were both recognized as they retired from the board.  Judge Darvin, the first board president of Preble Street, has served on the board for 25 years, and stepped down upon being appointed to the Maine District Court.

In addition to the community service awards, Preble Street elected new officers of the board. They include Maurice A. Selinger III, an attorney with Curtis Thaxter, president; Renee Schwalberg, Altarum Institute practice area deputy for policy, planning, and evaluation, vice-president; Ann Houser, vice president of Unum U.S. Human Resources, secretary; and Charlie Roscoe, retired managing partner, Berry, Dunn, McNeil & Parker, Certified Public Accountants, treasurer. Two new board members were appointed to three year terms: Terry Sutton, vice president of E-commerce L.L. Bean and Michelle Goldman, assistant vice president Unum.


The Maine Real Estate & Development Association, MEREDA, has elected the following officers for 2010-2011:  Thomas N. Lea of Cumberland, senior vice president and group manager of commercial real estate at Maine Bank and Trust, Maine Bank & Trust, president; Anne Littlefield, Dead River Properties, vice president;  Drew Sigfridson, CB Richard Ellis / The Boulos Company, vice president; William Shanahan, Northern New England Housing Investment Fund, treasurer; James C. Otis, Otis Atwell, assistant treasurer; Dennis C. Keeler, Pierce Atwood, LLP, secretary / registered agent.

John A. McArdle, III of Portland, with Kelly, Remmel & Zimmerman, was named president-elect of the Maine Trial Lawyers Association.

Robert H. Stier, Jr., of Cape Elizabeth, a partner at Pierce Atwood LLP, was elected to the American Law Institute.

The Gulf of Maine Research Institute  appointed the following to its board of directors: Andrew P. Barowsky, president & CEO of Lepage Bakeries; Elizabeth R. Butler, Esq., partner at Pierce Atwood; Gerald C. Knecht, CEO of North Atlantic, Inc.; Samuel A. Ladd III, president of Maine Bank & Trust; C. Anthony McDonald, partner at CB Richard Ellis/The Boulos Company; Henry L. P. Schmelzer, former president and CEO of Maine Community Foundation; and Peter A. Vail, director of fresh foods at Hannaford.

Jeffrey Bennett, Esq., of Falmouth, shareholder with Bennett Law Firm of Portland, has been elected to the board of directors of Easter Seals of Maine.

Philip Grondin Jr., of Portland, assistant Chief Financial Officer at RJ Grondin & Sons, was elected to The Salvation Army, Portland Corps Advisory Board.

United Way of Greater Portland has named Mike Stoddard, growth manager and senior vice president at Maine Bank & Trust, as the chair of its 2010 Campaign Cabinet; and Shawn Gorman, vice president of card services at L.L.Bean, will serve as vice chair. The other Campaign Cabinet members are Sam Beal, executive director, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southern Maine; Cheryl Brandt, senior vice president, Gorham Savings Bank; Erin Ehrlenbach Collins, vice president and trust officer, Androscoggin Trust & Investment Services; Michael W. Coughlin, Chief Executive Officer, Goodwill Industries of Northern New England; Stephen P. deCastro, market manager, Key Private Bank; Andrew Dolloff, superintendent, Kennebunk Schools; Lisa K. Toner, Esq., vice president of legal affairs, Delhaize America, LLC; Sean Dugan, director of special projects, MaineHealth; James Kachmar, financial representative, Guardian Life Insurance; Nathan Poore, Town Manager, Town of Falmouth; Douglas Richard, Gorham store manager, Hannaford Brothers Co.

Sidebar Elements

Cape Elizabeth artist Dudley Bostwick has donated an original print, pictured here, “The Gale,” for a raffle to benefit the Fort Williams Park Foundation. The foundation is selling raffle tickets for $5 each or 5 for $20. The raffle drawing will be held during the Cape Elizabeth Labor Day Art Show, on Sunday, Sept. 5 at Fort Williams Park. To purchase tickets, contact Carol Fritz,, or 767-3737.