People and Business: July 14

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Governor presents
annual Service Awards

AUGUSTA — Governor John Baldacci presented the annual Governor’s Volunteer Service Awards to celebrate citizen volunteer action and to recognize individuals and community organizations whose donations of time and leadership have made a significant difference in the quality of life for Maine residents.

Emily Fitch of Portland received the Outstanding National Service Volunteer for her work during an AmeriCorps year of service with the Community Resource Corps.

Bijou Umuhoza of Portland was selected as the Youth Volunteer of the Year.  Umuhoza, a high school student, donated over 1,000 hours last year to the Ubuntu Ministry, the Center for Grieving Children, Big Brothers Big Sisters, and the NAACP Youth Council.  

The Corporate Volunteerism Award was presented to UNUM.  Last year, their 546 employees in Cumberland and York counties gave 35,522 hours to support education, disability awareness, health and wellness, and arts and culture.  UNUM employees were recognized for collecting food for local pantries, coats for the homeless, school supplies for youth, holiday gifts for families, and cards and gifts for military members stationed overseas.

Cumberland/No. Yarmouth
Lions Club presents awards

CUMBERLAND / NORTH YARMOUTH — The 2010 Cumberland/North Yarmouth Lions Club presented its annual awards at a recent ceremony by the Lions Club President, Dick Barker.

Citizen of the Year was presented to Bill Landis of Cumberland for his work with the Cumberland Recreation Department, Adult Education, and Twin Brook Recreational Center. Landis has served as the community education and recreation director in Cumberland for nearly 29 years.

The winner of the Lion of the Year Award was given to Randy Bowden of  Cumberland for his service as the Lions Club Fair Booth Chairman at the  Cumberland Fairgrounds. Bowden also served as the chair of the annual Tree Lighting Ceremony.

Matt Chandler was presented with The President’s Award for his devotion to the club’s operation in general, and specifically for his active work at the Club’s fairground and Twin Brooks booths, and the neighborhood citrus fruit deliveries.


Malcolm Lyons, a partner in the law firm of Pierce Atwood LLP litigation practice group, received the inaugural Founder’s Award in recognition of his service as former president of the Maine Trial Lawyers Association. Daniel Stevens, counsel in Pierce Atwood LLP litigation practice group, was elected treasurer of the MTLA.
Artist Bill Tomsa of Topsham recently had two of his paintings “The Road Home” and “Journey # 4,” juried into the 20th Annual Maine Open Juried Art Show, held in Waterville, where “Journey #4,” was awarded a third place ribbon and cash prize.
The Maine Center for Enterprise Development has named Susan MacKay of Zeomatrix as the 2010 Women in Technological Entrepreneurship Award winner. The annual award includes a $400 stipend that is funded by the Victoria Hilliard Donovan Fund, managed by the Maine Community Foundation.

“The Scallop Christmas,” a children’s book published by Yarmouth-based Islandport Press was presented with the 2009 Lupine Honor Award in the Picture Book category at the 21st annual Reading Round-Up conference in Augusta. The book was written by Jane Freeberg and illustrated by Astrid Sheckels.

The Maine Fitness Awards were recently presented to organizations that do an exceptional job promoting physical activity and providing opportunities for physical activity. Two Portland organizations tied for first place in the Healthy Workplace, Medium Business Award category;  Martin’s Point Health Care and New England Rehabilitation Hospital of Portland.

The Maine Volunteer Lawyers Project presented the first Minott Crowley Award to Tim Crowley and Margaret Minott for their commitment to helping low-income Mainers. The award was established to honor Crowley and Minott for providing low-income people with access to justice for over 20 years with their involvement with The VLP.

Yarmouth-based Fluid Imaging Technologies was presented with the 2010 Exporter of the Year Award by the Maine International Trade and Investment Center for its FlowCAM instrumentation.

The State of Israel, through its Consulate General to New England in Boston, has honored Perry Newman, founding principal of Portland-based consulting firm, Atlantica Group LLC, for supporting economic collaboration between Israel and New England.

Wright-Pierce, a water, wastewater and infrastructure engineering firm with offices throughout New England, was recently named one of the Top 500 design firms in the country by Engineering News-Record, a trade publication for the architecture, engineering and construction industry.

Maine Coast Heritage Trust has named Don Hudson as recipient of the 2010 Espy Land Heritage Award.  Hudson was honored for his lifetime of achievements as the longtime president of the conservation organization, Chewonki Foundation.

At the Wellness Council of Maine’s annual awards banquet, The Irv Marsters Wellness Champion Leadership Awards were presented to an individual and a business that have contributed significantly to workplace wellness in Maine. For 2010, the individual honoree was Laurie Jones Mitchell, director of employee health improvement for MaineHealth. The business awardee was the Scarborough-based supermarket chain, Hannaford Bros., for its company-wide contribution to workplace wellness.

Sidebar Elements

The Rotary Clubs of South Portland – Cape Elizabeth and Breakwater Daybreak presented a check for $9,800 to Southern Maine Community College for international and multicultural student scholarships.  The money was raised during the International Food Festival sponsored by the Rotray Clubs. Pictured here, from left, are Mark Duval, president of the Breakwater Daybreak Club, Michelle Hedrick, executive director of the SMCC Foundation, Marge Barker and Joan Frustaci, of the South Portland – Cape Elizabeth Rotary Club.

Pictured here, from left are Dick Barker, outgoing president; Chris Ryer, incoming president; Randy Bowden, recipient of the Lion of the Year award; and Matt Chandler, recipient of the President’s award.