NYA's top spring athletes named

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

After another very successful spring sports season, which included a pair of state championships, North Yarmouth Academy recently gave out honors to its top athletes from the campaign.

Girls’ varsity lacrosse, coached by Julia Sterling, with assistance from Mike Gengras, Jenna McCabe and Lynn Sullivan, won its first Class B title. The team gave its Coaches’ Award to junior Lily Wellenbach and named senior Courtney Dumont its Most Valuable Player.

The JV squad, coached by Gengras, named freshman Hannah Hearn MVP. Junior Lauren Nawfel got the Coaches’ Award.

Girls’ varsity tennis, coached by Lorena Coffin, won Class C for the fourth year in a row. Senior Thu-Trang Ho won MVP. Junior Anna Jaeger was given the Coaches’ Award. Sophomore Soo Park was named Most Improved Player.

Baseball, coached by Alan King, with assistance from Russ Simms and Cody Wall, had a solid season and reached the regional semifinals. The team gave its Coaches’ Awards to senior Toey LeBlanc and junior Jordan Haskell. Senior Dean Darien was named MVP.

The JV baseball Coaches’ Award went to freshman Aaron Guisley.

Boys’ varsity lacrosse, coached by Chris Carpentier, with assistance from Peter Gerrity and Bruce Myers, reached the regional semifinals. The team’s MVP was senior Taylor Norton. Senior Brandon Barrett won the Coaches’ Award.

The JV boys’ team, coached by Gerrity, gave its Coaches’ Award to sophomore Ben Randall. Freshman T.J. Daigler was named MVP.

Boys’ varsity tennis, coached by Charlie Hudson, named freshman Burke Paxton MVP. Senior Chris Whiting got the Coaches’ Award.

Boys’ outdoor track, coached by Chris Mazzurco, with assistance from Matthew Brown and Dave Gagne, named senior Henry Sterling MVP. Sophomore Jake Susla got the Coaches’ Award.

The girls’ squad, with the same coaches, named senior Hannah Bewsey MVP. Senior Katie Lentine won the Coaches’ Award.

Athletic Council Awards went to Darien and Ho.

The Stephen A. Morris Award went to Barrett and Ali O’Reilly.

Middle school honors

As always, middle schoolers, the next generation of NYA stars, also received their due as the following were honored.

Coaches’ Award

7th grade boys’ lacrosse Matt Malcolm
8th grade boys’ lacrosse Colton Ackerman
7th grade girls’ lacrosse Mary Noyes
8th grade girls’ lacrosse Emily Manter and Abby McKelvy
Baseball Mark Snyder
Softball Emma Warren
Track Adela McVicar

Most Improved Player Award

7th grade boys’ lacrosse Josef Biberstein
8th grade boys’ lacrosse Jackson Cohan-Smith
7th grade girls’ lacrosse Sara Thompson
Baseball Ben Ford
Softball Maggie Bertocci
Track Muriel Adams

Max Maurer and Maisie Silverman were the middle school Athletic Council Award winners.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.