NYA honors top fall athletes

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

North Yarmouth Academy had a very successful fall sports season and recently, the school honored its top athletes.

Boys’ soccer went undefeated in the regular season for the first time ever and reached the Western Class C semifinals before losing to eventual champion Maranacook. The team’s Coach’s award went to D.J. Nicholas. Jackson Cohan-Smith was named Most Valuable Player.

The junior varsity squad named Haize Fassett Most Improved and gave its Coach’s award to Thomas McLaughlin.

Girls’ soccer got back to the playoffs after three years away. The Coach’s award went to Mel Regan. Chloe Leishman was named MVP.

The JV squad gave its Coach’s award to Isabelle See. Lauren Tufts was named Most Improved.

Field hockey finished a goal shy of a state championship. Olivia Madore was named team MVP and Kayla Rose was given the Coach’s award.

The JV team gave its Coach’s award to Mackenzie Sangster. Charlotte Eisenberg, who made some noise with the varsity squad, was named Most Improved.

Both cross country teams qualified for states.

The boys’ team named Matt Malcom MVP and gave its Coach’s award to Jake Malcom.

The girls’ team named Hannah Austin MVP and gave its Coach’s award to Abbie Hinchman.

Golf qualified for states. Brad Rockey was named MVP, while Brad Potter won the Coach’s award.

The JV team gave its Coach’s award to Haven Cutko. Cris Paradis was named Most Improved.

Volleyball reached the playoffs for the first time in program history. Charlotte Esancy was named MVP. Sohyun Jeon was given the Coach’s award.

The JV team gave its Coach’s award to Mina Stam. Hailey Frager was named Most Improved.

Sailing gave its varsity Coach’s award to Max Bueche and its JV Coach’s award to Henry Briggs. Camilla Rosenfeld was named Most Improved.

Athletic Council awards were given to Wesley Bright and Abby McKelvy.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.