Northern School Notebook: Sept. 29

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Students reach semifinals

in National Merit program

EVANSTON, Ill. — Fourteen students from local high schools were recently named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship program by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Students qualify for the scholarship program by receiving the highest scores in the state in the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (psat/nmsqt).

The 14 students include: James S. Currie, Anna J. Dedon, Gregory M. Ferland, and Ian P. Philbrick of Greely High School; Timothy B. Follo, Lee M. Larson, and Conor P. McGrory of Falmouth High School; Sarah H. Pier of Freeport High School; Nathan A. Verrill of Pine Tree Academy; Mateusz Tasarz, and Brian N. Trelegan of North Yarmouth Academy; and Susannah K. Daggett, Amelia M. Gallay, and Dinah F. King of Yarmouth High School.

Spring 2011 Dean’s List Announcements

Cumberland: DePaul University, Sawyer Hopps, Sean Mullin; Norwich University, Patrick Bowden, Caroline Thomas; Northeastern University, Richard Hawkes, Ethan Netland; Roger Williams University, Scott P. McMann; Simmons College, Alexandra Andrews; Taylor University, Catherine Hutchins, Paul Hutchins.

Falmouth: Bentley University, Nolan Tapley; College of the Holy Cross, Colleen Bucci; Franklin & Marshall College, Luci Lantos; Gettysburg College, Emily Bowden; Lafayette College, Britt Langford; Lasell College, Jaimee Hugo; Merrimack College, Esther Aromando; Nichols College, Samuel Horning; Norwich University, Reilly Bayer; Roger Williams University, Hayley A. Couper; Salve Regina University, Sarah Mason; Simmons College, Melissa Keroack, Kelsey Duchesne; Syracuse University, Rachel Becker.

Freeport: Bates College, Joshua Sturtevant; Roger Williams University, Henry A. Loughlin, Eric T. Schwarm; Syracuse University, Danielle Colvin, Andrew Taggart.

North Yarmouth: Azusa Pacific University, Sean M. Sidders; Roger Williams University, Sean D. Powers, Jessica C. Reade; St. Lawrence University, Eliza J. Williams; Taylor University, Andrew Fitch, James Fitch.

Yarmouth: Endicott College, Peter James Erickson; St. Lawrence University, Abigail C. Moss; Syracuse University, Alexander Brewer, Joshua Nightingale; Wheaton College, Joanna Gildart.