Northern School Notebook: Sept. 29

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

National Merit Scholars semifinalists announced

National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently released the names of local high school seniors who are semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Falmouth High School: Madelyn G. Adams, Mary K. Giglio, Karan Godara, Jack P. Hepburn, Allison E. Murphy, Lisa L. Smoluk

North Yarmouth Academy:  Alexander L. Bartone

Yarmouth High School: Aaron R. Dustin,  Andrei Lougovtsov

The students will continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered in spring 2017.

Dean’s lists

Creighton University

Isabella Diamond, of Falmouth

Penn State

Kathryn Lannon, of Falmouth

St. Lawrence University

Alida Farrell, of Freeport

Tufts University

Jessica Hoffman, of Cumberland Center


Highest Honors:

Edith Aromando, of Cumberland; Catia Bayda, of Falmouth; Anna Peaslee and Madison Piacentini, of Cumberland Foreside; Raleigh Goessling, of Yarmouth

High Honors: Emily Fisher, of Cumberland; Ava Demer, of Falmouth; Samantha Andrews, of North Yarmouth

Honors: Molly Dawson, of Cumberland; Sierra Moore, of Cumberland Center; Sumner Bright, of Freeport; Ruth Smith, of Falmouth

University of Oklahoma

Taylor Readio, of Cumberland Center


Bates College

Joshua Britten, of North Yarmouth, Bachelor of Science in sociology.

Connecticut College

Leah Cady Bevins, of Yarmouth, Bachelor of Science in environmental studies

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Daniel Hernandez-Martinez, of Yarmouth, Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering

Megan Lamare, of Falmouth, Bachelor of Science in chemistry