Northern School Notebook: May 17

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

FHS students praised for advocating on behalf of disabled 

Three students from Freeport High School were honored by the Maine Developmental Disabilities Council when it hosted its third annual Inclusion Celebration at the State House in Augusta on April 25. The ceremony celebrated the efforts of high school juniors and seniors who created essays and artworks reflecting on the meaning of full inclusion of individuals with developmental disabilities in Maine communities.

Corilie Green, Alexander Les and McKenna Troast were among eight students recognized. MDDC also honored Freeport High School for its “extraordinary student participation,” as well as independent U.S. Sen. Angus King for his advocacy for those with disabilities.

NYA grant boosts learning commons project

A $50,000 grant from the Davis Family Foundation will contribute to North Yarmouth Academy’s $700,000 renovation and expansion of the library space at 148 Main St. 

The NYA Learning Commons will be the “nerve center of the school,” according to a news release, and provide “state-of-the-art” space for online education, tutoring, content creation, meetings and studying.

The scope of the project more than doubles the current space to 3,250 square feet. 

In addition to providing space for NYA’s Upper and Middle School students, the NYA Learning Commons will also support various Lower School programs, including new early literacy and science, technology, engineering and math learning known as STEM.

“The NYA Learning Commons will be a major resource to ensure the Academy is preparing our students for success in today’s changing world,” Head of School Ben Jackson said in a news release. 

The Davis Family Foundation grant will be combined with donations from NYA families and other commitments from benefactors that bring the full total committed to $400,000 for the $700,000 project.

NYA also held a soiree on April 27 at Thompson’s Point that raised $226,040 – $153,300 of which will be put towards the commons. The remainder of the funding will come from private and foundation gifts. 

The Davis Family Foundation is a public charitable foundation established by Phyllis C. Davis and H. Halsey Davis of Falmouth to support educational, medical, and cultural/arts organizations located primarily in Maine. 

Greeley High School Honor Roll

The following Greely High School students demonstrated academic excellence and earned a place on the third quarter honor roll: 

Grade 12

High Honors

Claire Davis, Alexander Gerencer, Issra Louhichi, Sydney Smart


Brooke Bickford, Lillian Black, Timothy Coyle, Jeanette Cunningham, Kate Curran, Kelsey Currier, Nathan Cyr, Isabel Evans, Michael Geary, Lauren Gervais, Natalie Giroux, Kathryn Hall, Samuel Jagolinzer, William Jenkins, Stephanie Johnson, Timothy Kendall, Benjamin Kennedy, Acadia LeSiege, Gretchen Manley, Sydney Meredith-Pickett, Quinn Molloy, Olivia Murley, Alexandra Peary, Gregory Pershing, Ryan Pooler, Allie Potenziano, Trevor Rafford, Sydney Ranalletti, Juliana Raudales, Madison Rawnsley, Adeline Ray, Bridget Roberts, CJ Rumsey, Safa Saleh, Jenifer Spencer, Katie Steinberg, Courtney Sullivan, Peter Theodores, Greta Van Curan

Grade 11

High Honors

James Brouder, Jordan Bryant, Jill Cass, Emma Dexter, Corrigan Farnham, Madeline Irish, Aidan Michaud, Edmund Paquin, Mia Rico, Ibrahim Saleh, Morgan Selby, Matthew Smith-Erb, Adeline Traficonte, Blake Turner, Evan Wyman


Brooke Asherman, Lillian Benoit, Julia Bisson, Lars Boddie, Anna Briley, Nina Brinker, Brendan Carrell, Isabella Chandler, Abigail Cloutier, Hannah Craig, Julia Curran, Anna DeWolfe, Nathan Dillman, Henry Dorsky, Grace Downey, Holly Downing, Darien Drouin, Justin Fecteau, Emma Fitzpatrick, Jack Gustafson, Aidan Hayes, Nathan Ingersoll, Kylie Josephson, Anna Kennedy, Annie Langhauser, Carter Lawless, Savannah Lemieux, Timothy Lester, Sabra Lindsay, Ana Lipp, William Lyden, Luke Marsanskis, Madeline Maynard, Maggie McCormick, Mollie McDonald, Taylor Meredith-Pickett, Katherine Metzger, Isaac Moore, Natalie Mullin, Edie O’Keefe, Terence Olds, Madelaine Panici, Ashley Parvin, Wren Payne, Madeline Perfetti, Halley Price, Charlie Saffian, Madison Scott, Kira Shepard, Kyle Sidders, Ksenia Smart, Aiden Smith, Anna Smith, Rachel Smith, Rachel Spencer, Kimberly Steinman, Luke Stickney, Carolyn Todd, Sarah Traister, Samantha Watt, Grady White, Jacob Whiting, Annabelle Williams, Jackson Williams, Thomas Young, Carlotta Ziervogel

Grade 10

High Honors

Aaron Howell, Eliza McCauley


Cameron Aromando, Megan Beaulieu, Katherine Bennert, Jakob Bernheisel, Phoebe Boardman, Audrey Boyle, Emma Boynton, Isabella Caron, Sara Caron, Ben Cloutier, Camryn Copp, Anya Davis, Mikaela Estes, Riley Franklin, Kira Fried, Timothy Frongillo, Terra Gallo, Olivia Giandrea, Audrey Hankinson, Riley Iris, Gwen Jackson, Hanna Kane, Toby Kany, John Kearney, Hunter Kremin, Lauren Lamberson, Andrew Lawrence, Sydney Martin, Conor Nadeau, Will Nicholson, Brooke Obar, Marin Provencher, Emma Raven, Ben Rosenthal, Caitlin Snow, Parker Stair, Amber Steeves-McCormick, Emily Stinneford, Danielle Tebbs, Kalei Volk, Jake Westra

Grade 9

High Honors

Madison Albert, Carson Bell, Camden Dean, Elsa Dean-Muncie, Bridget Frost, Kaitlyn Guay, Elizabeth Hanson, Delia Knox, Elias Leggat-Barr, Meaghan McBreairty, Annalise Panici, Maria Paquin, Jonathon Piesik, Juslyn Theriault


Grant Allard, Ciel Antoine, Alex Bard, Katie Bernheisel, Braden Bickford, Avery Bucknam, Lauren Carrell, Logan Cieniawski, Camille Clement, Lucy Corral, Katherine Dennen, Elizabeth Domingo, Anna Dougan, Nathaniel Dudek, Lindsay Eisenhart, Daniel Geary, Adam Giroux, Samantha Goldburg, Tyler Grasky, Sophie Gustafson, Ben Hall, Leif Harvey, Payton Hatch, Lilian Hayden-Hunt, Eliza Ingersoll, Paige Jones, Dawson Jowett, DJ Kenney, Diana Kimball, Hannah Kropp, Bridget Lary, Camilla Lattanzi, Jane Lipp, Abigail Lucey, Riley McBreairty, Chase McConnell, Ethan McCormick, Declan Murphy, Brady Nolin, Kaci O’Grady, Genevieve Oakes, Mollie Obar, Jaehee Park, Noah Pendleton, Hannah Perfetti, Ella Poor, Ava Poperechny, Christopher Rafford, Katherine Ramseyer, Brennan Rawnsley, Rees Reynolds, Halle Roy, Grace Ruszkai, Ahmed Saleh, Molly Sherr, Katherine Simmons, Emily Small, Cooper Studdiford, Jared Swisher, Abby Taylor, Gretchen Thiele, Christopher Williams