Northern School Notebook: Feb. 15

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

North Yarmouth Academy
First Trimester Honor Roll

In last week’s Northern School Notebook, high honors for grades six through nine were inadvertently excluded.

High Honors

Grade 9: Austin Kidder of Topsham, Travis Lee of Yarmouth, MacMillan Morse of Yarmouth, Elizabeth Roche of Yarmouth, Emma Warren of Portland, and Elanor West of Falmouth.
Grade 8: Alexandra Barnes of North Yarmouth, Anna Bilodeau of Winthrop, Elizabeth Coughlin of Falmouth, George Doolan of South Freeport, Duncan George of Cumberland, Elise LeBihan of South Freeport, John LeBlanc of Falmouth, Louisa Mahoney of Freeport, Matthew Malcom of Boothbay, Mary Noyes of Freeport, Marina Poole of Newcastle, Bradley Potter of Freeport, Anya Siviski of Lewiston, Mark Snyder of Cumberland, Marina Stam of Cumberland Foreside, and Matthew Truesdale of Brunswick.
Grade 7: Emily Baker of Topsham, Dagen Braun of Windham, Jacob Haas of Portland, Madeline Henderson of Brunswick, Elizabeth McIntosh of Falmouth, Daniel McVicar of Portland, Bryce Moody of Auburn, John Nappi of Freeport, Charles O’Halloran of Yarmouth, Mackenzie Sangster of Raymond, and Andrei Vile of South Freeport.
Grade 6: Christopher Amoroso of Yarmouth, Henry Briggs of Arrowsic, Greyson Cohen of Falmouth, Kyle Kostelnik of North Yarmouth, Reed Lonsdale of Falmouth, and Eleanor Van Winkle of Raymond.

Correction: Brayden Chapman was inadvertently excluded from the Freeport Middle School First Trimester Honor Roll. He should have been listed under grade 7, honors.

Sidebar Elements

The Falmouth High School Debate Team, pictured here, won first place at the Maine Forensic Association State Finals,  took home the Sportsmanship Award, and earned many other individual awards. FHS Debate Team Coach Michelle LaFond earned a special recognition from her fellow debate coaches and was voted the Coach of the Year. Individual awards included the Lincoln-Douglas style debate Junior Varsity, first place, Emma Sapat, and second place, Lee Larson; Lincoln-Douglas style Novice Debate, first place, Josh McGovern, third place, Chris Coughlin, and fourth place, Ben Dobbins; Varsity Public Forum style debate, first place team, Kyle Grigel and Michael Norton, third place team, Molly Paris and Katie Ventura, and fifth place team, Reid Pryzant and Toby Aicher; Novice Public Forum, first place, Ryan Tarte and Sean Connolly; and Congressional Debate Sweepstakes, fifth place, Will Ryan.

Fifty Falmouth students in grades 3-6 recently participated in a Mock Newbery Book Club, where they read and discussed books that met the Newbery criteria, and held a vote to select the award winners. The club was created by Louise Capizzo, on left of picture, former children’s librarian at Falmouth Memorial Library and 2011 Newbery Medal committee member, and Cathy Potter, on right, K-4 school librarian at DW Lunt School and Plummer-Motz Elementary School. The club held a mock award assembly announcing the winning books. For more information, including a listing of winners, go to