Northern School Notebook: April 28

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

‘The Secret Garden’

on stage in Falmouth

FALMOUTH — The Theatre Company at Falmouth High School is performing the musical, “The Secret Garden,” over two weekends beginning Friday, April 29.

Showtimes are 7:30 p.m., April 29-30, and May 5-7.  All performances are held at the Falmouth High School theater, 52 Woodville Road, Falmouth. Tickets are available at the door; $6 for students, $8 for adults.

For more information, see or find the Theatre Company at Falmouth High School on Facebook.

Finalists selected for

Freeport poetry festival

FREEPORT — Wesley McNair, Maine’s newest Poet Laureate, has selected 20 finalists from 10 area high schools to participate in the Fourth Annual Merriconeag Poetry Festival in Freeport.

The finalists will read their original work at an awards ceremony and reception open to the public on Sunday, May 1, at the Merriconeag Waldorf School from 3 to 4:30 p.m.

McNair will announce the first, second, and third place winners, whose poems will be displayed on a poster to be distributed to all high schools in the region. All finalists will receive gift certificates and a festival booklet containing all the selected poems.

The finalists are Missouri Alice Winslow Williams, Aucocisco School;  Fallon Parker, Cheverus High School; Francesca Morabito, Deering High School; Alexandra Neudek and Abbey Mitchell, Falmouth High School; Clara Stickney and Emma Alden, Gorham High School; Emma Rhodes-Armstrong, Leif Anderson, and Jeremy Colson, Merriconeag Waldorf High School; Ben Claytor, Lillie Reder, Aidan McLaughlin, and Aldis Gamble, North Yarmouth Academy; Michelle Thomas, Molly Hayward, Erick Pickett and Julia Raffel, Scarborough High School; Krysteana Scribner, Thornton Academy; and Amelia Gallay, Yarmouth High School.

Sidebar Elements

The Falmouth Middle School’s “Iron Twinkies” Jazz Band, pictured here, recently won the 2011 Maine State Jazz Band Championship in Division I for the 10th time in eleven years. The band, under the direction of music teacher Jerry Barry, scored 98 out of 100 possible points to place first in the state. In addition to the band award, 12 individual  musicians received Outstanding Soloist Awards, including Alec Abbatiello, Cayman Bickerstaff, Brooke Bazarian, Alexandra Ertman, Matt Estabrook, Jaspreet Kohli, Griffin Leighton, Scott Lambert, Sam Larson, Callie McMahon, Emma Mooradian, and Julia Warnock. Matt Estabrook also received the State Jazz Festival Outstanding Musicianship trophy, recognizing him among the top five individual musicians in Division 1. Also on the jazz band roster are musicians Adam Gardner, Lynnea Harding, Iain Kurry, Alex Levy, Olivia Ring, Cam Wilkins, Nicole Budri, Matt Claar, Stephan Joyce, Keunjoo Kim, and Tom Lesniak.