Northern School Notebook: April 28

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Falmouth boy takes top prize in composers competition

Logan Peters, 10, of Falmouth, was awarded first place for “Hunting on a Full Moon” for piano at the 20th Young Composers’ Competition & Festival in Blue Hill April 16. Peters, who won in Category I: Age 7 – 13, was one of 20 composers from across the state who submitted original compositions for review by a team of expert judges. Cash prizes of $200, $125, and $75 were awarded to winners by age category.

The Young Composers’ Competition is forum where Maine students can create new musical works and develop their composing and notation skills. It also provides them with valuable feedback from professional musicians. All submissions become part of the Bagaduce Music Lending Library’s Maine Collection.

GMS educator lauded as Maine National History Day Teacher of the Year 

Kathi Kearney of Greely Middle School was awarded the Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award in Maine at Maine National History Day April 9 at the University of Maine in Orono. The annual NHD award recognizes teachers for their outstanding work and dedication to their students. The Maine state winner is awarded $500 and nominated for the national teacher prize of $10,000.

During Maine National History Day, about 340 students from 35 middle and high schools were accompanied by their teachers, friends, and families to showcase exhibits, papers, websites, documentaries and performances based on original student research.

FHS announces winner of Maine Principal’s Award

Sean Soucy, a senior at Falmouth High School, has been selected to receive the 2016 Maine Principal’s Award, according to Principal Gregg Palmer. The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

Soucy is the son of Lauri and Leo Soucy of Falmouth. He has served on the FHS executive committee, has been class president for four years, has been a member of the varsity cross-country and indoor/outdoor track team for four years; is a member of Natural Helpers; a member of the theater ensemble for four years, and served on numerous committees and school projects.

Soucy, Palmer and other award winners and their principals attended an honors luncheon April 2 in Bangor, where the students were presented with plaques and a chance at one of several $1,000 scholarships.

“Sean is such a positive presence in his school and community,” Palmer said. “As class president, he leads through collaboration and hard work and always supports his fellow students. He is a leader, a genuinely kind, honest, and motivated individual.”

Falmouth senior taking wing after acceptance by Air Force

Matthew Claar from Falmouth has accepted an offer to attend the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Claar is a senior at Falmouth High School. “I come from a family with a long history of military service, and have always been taught that serving a cause greater than myself is the highest honor I could achieve,” Claar wrote in a letter requesting the nomination from U.S. Rep. Chellie Pingree, D-Maine. “On a personal level, I have always had a deep-rooted interest in aerospace, and am currently working toward my private pilot’s license. I feel that applying my skill and passion in this field is an excellent way to serve my nation, and I’m seeking the highest quality of education to help me follow that pathway.” To be considered for an appointment to a service academy, applicants must be nominated by an authorized nominating source, which includes members of Congress.

The Greely Jazz Band was awarded first place in its division at this year’s Maine Jazz Festival, and also took first place awards for the first combo and second combo. Outstanding Musicianship Awards were given to Harry Pershing, alto sax; Jenna Pavis, alto sax; Gregory Pershing, piano; Libby George, drums; Josh Medrano, drums; and Peter Theodores, tenor sax.

State Sen. Cathy Breen, D-Falmouth, welcomed Nicholas Paulu, Oliver Peloquin, Lincoln Truesdale, Calin McGonagle, Kelcie McGonagle, and Michael McGonagle of Yarmouth and Devin Gifford of Cumberland to the State House in Augusta last month, when the students were honorary pages in the Maine Senate.