Northern School Notebook: April 10

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Yarmouth student picked for Maine Youth Leadership

YARMOUTH — Each year, Maine high schools are invited to nominate a sophomore student to attend the Maine Youth Leadership Seminar, a four-day conference held at University of Southern Maine’s Gorham campus. This year, the faculty and staff at Yarmouth High School chose Kristopher R. Cody as their representative because of his outstanding leadership qualities. The goal of the seminar is to motivate Maine’s future leaders and create a network of civic-minded students who will improve their communities through volunteering.

Local students place at Women’s Literary Union contest

PORTLAND — Paige Richardson, a student at Greely High School, recently placed third in the Women’s Literary Union’s annual Creative Writing Contest. Mollie Braley and Hannah Somes took home honorable mentions in the contest.

Freeport students perform with USM youth ensemble

FREEPORT — Three students from Freeport High School will perform in the University of Southern Maine’s Youth Ensembles. The ensembles bring together some of the most talented young high school and middle school musicians in Maine to learn and perform a sophisticated repertoire of classical and modern music. Participants audition to work with USM music faculty, guest conductors and professional musicians.

Lily LaMarre (flute) and Brianna Wilson (harp), both sophomores, will play in the Portland Youth Wind Ensemble. Chris Collins, a senior, will play the trumpet in both the Portland Youth Wind Ensemble and the Portland Youth Symphony Orchestra.

Freeport student wins Poetry Out Loud Contest

Freeport — Tyler O’Brien, a student at the Merriconeag Waldorf High School, recently won the 2012 Maine State Poetry Out Loud contest. He will represent the state of Maine at the national competition in Washington, D.C., in May.

Sidebar Elements

FALMOUTH — The Falmouth Middle School “Iron Twinkies” jazz band recently won the 2012 Maine State Division 1 Jazz Band Championship. The band, under the direction of music teacher Jerry Barry, scored a 95 out of 100. This is the 11th time the band has been crowned state champions.

Thirteen Falmouth students received individual awards. Alec Abbatiello, Max Brautingam, Matt Claar, Joey Han, Stefan Joyce, Keunjoo Kim, Nate Klebe, Jaspreet Kohli, Will Larson, Griffin Leighton, Jack Sharp, Lisa Smoluk and Emma Walsh all received awards for improvisation.  Abbatiello and Smoluk also received the State Jazz Festival Outstanding Musicianship trophy recognizing their individual performances among the top five musicians in Division 1.

Other band members include Mary Budri, Nicole Budri, Adelaide Cooke, Meghan Charest, Eddie Derhak, Annika Dyhrberg, Jack Horgan, Antoniette Lambert, Hanna Paris, Ben Rudnick, Emma Richard and Ellie Sapat.