Northern School Notebook

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

clo: n-schoolnotebook-dean-021209

Freeport Boy Scout
earns Eagle rank
MANCHESTER — Ian Nichols, a North Yarmouth Academy senior, was awarded his Boy Scout Eagle rank at an Eagle Court of Honor ceremony in Manchester, where he is a member of Troop 622.
Nichols, the son of Randall and Mary Nichols of Freeport, completed his Eagle project by working on sections of the Knights Woods Trail in Bradbury Mountain State Park.

Falmouth student
wins Siemens Award
FALMOUTH — Falmouth High School junior Ryan Gao has been selected as one of two state winners of the Siemens Award for Advanced Placement.
The award, which includes a $2,000 college scholarship, is given annually to one male and one female student in each state. Gao was chosen based on his performance in AP math and science. 

Dean’s List
The following local students have earned dean’s list for the fall 2008 semester:
Rachel Aranson, University of Maryland; Lindsey Schmidt, University of Rhode Island; Samantha D’Eramo, Caitlyn McCall and Hillary Stevens, University of New England; Benjamin Hewes, Lafayette College; Hannah Groom, Messiah College; Ethan Netland, Northeastern University; Laura Esty, Randolph College; Samuel Fisher, Clarkson University; Katherine Gagne, Megan McDevitt, Saint Joseph’s College; Allison Cederna, Northern Michigan University.
Kristin Myers, Kaitlyn DiRenzo, Joshua Murphy, University of New England; Nicole Stevens, Messiah College; Kelly Morris, Northeastern University; Glendon Staples, Susquehanna University; Courtney Beaulieu, Colby College; Logan Keeler, Anna Puiia, Connecticut College; Craig Winslow, Champlain College; Morgan Furman, Wentworth Institute of Technology; Matthew Lotfey, Bryant University; Christopher Talbot, Clarkson University; Madeline Grygiel, The College of William and Mary; Zachary Bennett, Northern Michigan University; Lorri Dougherty, University of Maine at Augusta; Bethany Greffam, University of Maine, Farmington; Lynne Gallagher, Jake Linthicum, Daniel Major, Bentley University. 

Nichole Engel, Endicott College; Shelley Hoy, Hamilton College; Chase Baker, Megan Dean, Colby College; Lisa Broadbent, University of Maine at Augusta; Andrew Collins, The College of Wooster.
North Yarmouth
Katherine Lindquist, Aaron Mitchell, University of New England; Samantha Goldstein, Lynchburg College.
Mary Moss, Endicott College; Jessica Dietz, Lauren Duncan, Hamilton College; Matthew Whittemore, High Point University; Samantha Gray, Saint Joseph’s College.


n-schoolnotebook-Dean-021209.jpgMegan Dean, daughter of Ralph and Jamie Dean of Freeport, has been awarded a winter internship in the Washington, D.C. office of U.S. Sen. Susan Collins.
Dean, a senior at Colby College studying government and psychology, will be assisting with constituent relations.