Northern School Notebook

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Falmouth students nominated as Presidential Scholar candidates

Five Falmouth High School seniors Cassandra Darrow, Alexander Han, Caroline Levy, Emma Sapat and Thomas Wilber have been selected as candidates for the United States Presidential Scholar Program. 

The program was established in 1964 by executive order of President Lyndon B. Johnson, recognizes and honors some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts.

About 560 students from across the U.S. will be named semi-finalists. Their applications will be reviewed by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars for selection in April as one of 121 Academic Scholars and up to 20 Arts Scholars. One young man and one young woman are chosen from each state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and from families of U.S. citizens living abroad.

Local residents make dean’s lists

Emerson College

Marissa Bickford, of Falmouth; Rachel Powell, of Freeport; and Taylor Kissin, of Yarmouth

Gettysburg College

Andrew Monthey and Miranda Ray, both of Cumberland; Kalley Hansel, of North Yarmouth; and Eliza Gendron, of Yarmouth.

Marist College

Katelynn Boynton, of Cumberland

University of New England

Marina Silverman, of Cumberland

University of Tampa

Shannon Donovan, of Falmouth

Villanova University

Dougald MacGillivray, of Falmouth