Northen School Notebook: May 8

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

NYA merit scholarship winners

YARMOUTH — North Yarmouth Academy recently awarded merit scholarships to students who demonstrate the qualities intrinsic to the school’s mission.

Out of 41 students nominated, Madison Cutten and Morganne Elkins received full scholarships while Charlotte Eisenberg and Katherine Hilscher each received partial scholarships for the 2012-2013 school year.

This year was the first year for the program; both current and new students were eligible for nomination.

Freeport High School quarter 3 honor roll

FREEPORT — Grade 9 High Honors: Ryder Bennell, Josef Biberstein, Lauren Carter, Lauren Cormier, Abigail Gray, Emily Johnson, Hannah Morrissey, Jasmine Olins, Devin Robinson, Margo Ruby, Meredith Saunders and Sarah Watts.

Grade 9 Honors: Caleb William Abbott, Hannah Avant, Emilee Billings, Rebecca Bonney, Julia Bowen, Seth Breton, Conner Cameron, Wynne Cushing, Blake Enrico, Alexis Erlandson, Callum Gould, Kaitlin Johnson, Molly Kennedy, Elizabeth Kolle, Emily LeDoux, Elizabeth Martin, Alyssa Nielsen, Katelyn O’Neil, Alyssa Richardson, Rachel Rogers, Daniel Sinclair, Brittany Small, Abigail Smith, Julia Smith, Lilly Smith, Evan Tims and Samuel Wogan.

Grade 10 High Honors: Molly Brown, Emma Egan, Julia Fosburg, Fiona Harbert, Brooke Heathco, Travis Libsack, Emily Ann Monahan-Morang, Nicholas Nelsonwood, Jessica Perry, Ethan Roney and Emily Sturtevant.

Grade 10 Honors: Sydney Ambrose, Elly Bengtsson, Meredith Broderick, Dalton Chapman, Brandon Cigri, Alexis Dietrich, Mark Donahue, Christopher Forest, Mary Gregory, Katie Harlow, Emily Jennings, Bethanie Knighton, Lily LaMarre, Olivia Marquis, Katie McClelland, Cody McEnery, Ellyn Pier, Ashley Richardson, Shelby Sawyer, Rachel Sayward, Jamie Schaedler,
Harrison Stivers, Eric Wentworth and Michael Williams.

Grade 11 High Honors: Abrin Berkemeyer, Bennett Brainard, Daniel Burke, Taylor Enrico, Gemma McElroy, Kameron Pierce, James Purdy, Sophie Smith and Ciera Wentworth.

Grade 11 Honors: Sarah Bonney, Kathryn Breed, Mason Cyr, Brady Davis, Connor Dietrich, Samuel Farrar, Dayze Gaulin, Brittany Greene, Kayley Johnson, Korissa Lavers, Hannah Morrison, Reiley Parker, Aubrey Pennell Mehlhorn, Thomas Provencher, Alec Salisbury, Brittney Shelton, Victor Skorapa, Abigial Smith, Eliza Smith-Sitnick, Macy Stowell, Christopher West, Lindsay Wold and Leigh Wyman.

Grade 12 High Honors: Samuel Bennett and Mara Stechno.

Grade 12 Honors: Spencer Bernier, Jennifer Breau, Taylor Day, Brenna DeMerchant, Thomas Dodge, William Freeman, Jessica Hench, Caitlin Keniston, Zachary Kilton, Abigail Latulippe, Abigail Mahoney, Sarah Pier, Laura Ramage, Abigail Roney, Desiree Sanborn, Eleanor Soule, Claire Stenzel, Alexander Sturtevant, Mia Thomas, Bethany Watts, Joshua Weirich, Brandon Williams and Yu Zou.

Sidebar Elements

Meagan Currie, a freshman at Greely High School, was the grand prize winner of the 2012 Maine State Science Fair held at Jackson Laboratory in Bar Harbor.

Currie’s winning project was “Oxygen production of brown and green seaweeds Ascopyllum nodosum and Fucus vesiculosus under different colored lights.”

She and second-place winner, Sam Wood of Mt. Ararat High School, are the first Maine high school students qualified to participate in the INTEL International Science Fair to be held in May in Pittsburgh.