North Yarmouth writes Chadbourne's ticket back to Board of Selectmen

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

NORTH YARMOUTH — A write-in candidate who is well known in town won Tuesday’s Board of Selectmen election.

Former Selectman Jeanne Chadbourne of North Yarmouth Woods, who jumped in the race last month, narrowly defeated Bryn Lane resident Keith Thompson, 155-145.

Harold Stoddard of Smithwood Drive, whose name appeared on the ballot but who withdrew from the election May 20, still received 20 votes.

“I’m surprised, because I was not on the ballot,” Chadbourne said Tuesday. “I’m grateful for the support, and Keith was an able opponent.”

Chadbourne will replace Paul Napolitano, who has served nine years on the board.

Chadbourne taught fourth through sixth grades in School Administrative District 51 for 28 years until the mid-1990s. Her community involvement has included two terms on both the Board of Selectmen and SAD 51 Board of Directors in the 1990s and 2000s. She was named North Yarmouth’s Distinguished Citizen of the Year in 2011.

Thompson acknowledged Chadbourne’s strong recognition in the community, and said “she ran a strong campaign in the short time she was in; she did a good job. … I always thought she was a formidable candidate.”

“I think the town will be well-served,” he added.

Thompson, a retired aviator and chairman of the Spring Point Ledge Light Trust in South Portland, according to his website,, has lived in North Yarmouth for 17 years.

He said he does not plan to run again.

No one submitted nomination papers for two open Budget Committee seats; Sandra Falsey and Clark Whittier received the most write-in votes (69 and three) for those positions. The town will approach them about serving on that panel.

Whittier, a selectman, is stepping down from that position June 30.

Jim Moulton, a former selectman who served on the School Administrative District 51 Board of Directors in 2002-2005 and was elected again in 2012, did not seek re-election. Katherine Perrin of Mill Road was the only candidate for that seat, and seh received 285 votes.

Richard Baston of Walnut Hill Road and Stephen Gorden of Heather Loch were uncontested in their re-election bids for, respectively, Cemetery Commission and Yarmouth Water District trustee. They received 319 and 295 votes, respectively.

Election turnout was 12 percent.

Alex Lear can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 113 or Follow him on Twitter: @learics.

Sidebar Elements


No contests in Cumberland

CUMBERLAND — At-large Town Councilor Shirley Storey-King, Councilor George Turner of Cumberland Foreside, and West Cumberland Councilor Ron Copp were unopposed in their re-election bids Tuesday.

Copp received 439 votes, Turner received 431, and Story-King received 427. All were re-elected for three-year terms.

Karen Campbell and Vickie Bell were also unopposed for three-year seats on the School Administrative District 51 board, with 387 and 385 votes, respectively.

Voter turnout was 8.9 percent.

Alex Lear

A Maine native and Colby College graduate, Alex has been covering coastal communities since 2001, and currently handles Bath, Topsham, Cumberland, and North Yarmouth. He and his wife, Lauren, live in the Portland area, and Alex recently released his third album of original music.